Law Useful Websites: United States

Portal to US legal information.

The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN (US Congress) programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 199,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives.

Legislative information from the Library of Congress services and collections.

Fedlaw has assembled references of use to people doing Federal legal research and which can be accessed directly through "point and click" hypertext connections.

Harvard Law School has made its academic scholarship available through the Harvard University Digital Repository

Judgepedia is an encyclopedia about America's courts and judges. Its goal is to help readers discover and learn useful information about the court systems and judiciary in the United States.

US site from Thomson/Reuters. LawBrain is an online resource where users can browse legal topics, contribute legal knowledge, and share opinions on content. It is a wiki that enables users to edit, add, and organize articles so that content is relevant and useful.

The Legal Information Institute (LII) is a research and electronic publishing activity of the Cornell Law School. Popular collections include: the U.S. Code, Supreme Court opinions, and other primary materials.

The database currently contains data from 1953 to 2008 and will be updated. The site contains a streamlined interface that allows anyone to go online and pull up cases with ease, and perform simple analyses. It also contains downloadable formats for analysis in a variety of statistical packages.

GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to Government information and laws submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and is preserved as technology changes.

US laws, codes, statutes and cases.