Internal Medicine: Home

Provides decision support through a step-by-step approach that is structured around patient consultation, covering diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention.

DynaMed is an evidence-based, clinical reference tool designed for use at point-of-care by physicians and other health care professionals. Over 3,200 topic summaries covering diseases, disorders, diagnostics, and drugs are derived from peer reviewed journals and systematic evidence review databases.

Essential Evidence Plus (EE+) is a comprehensive clinical decision support system that integrates information on 9,000 diagnoses into healthcare professionals’ clinical workflows. It features over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, tools, images, and summaries covering the most common conditions, diseases, and procedures clinicians come in contact with every day. Every recommendation carries a strength-of-evidence rating that grades each recommendation’s merit on the basis of all of the evidence available in the relevant literature. EE+ can also be accessed with mobile-devices. When visiting the site on a mobile device, users will automatically be redirected to the mobile version of the site.

On-campus access only
Up-to-date is an evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical resource to assist with diagnosis and treatment by providing specific answers to clinical questions, increasing users’ clinical knowledge and improving patient care. It covers over 8,500 topic reviews in 17 medical specialties written by over 4400 editors, physicians and reviewers. They monitor more than 440 journals and incorporate new studies in the context of what has already been published in that field. These topic reviews include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations. They are fully illustrated and referenced and with links to Medline abstracts and a drug database Lexi-Comp.

VisualDx is a diagnostic decision support system designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases. It provides instant access to specialist knowledge at the point of care, merging medical images with concise clinical text. As the clinician enters actual patient findings, VisualDx creates a visual differential diagnosis. VisualDx Mobile is available as native iPhone, iPad, and Android apps.

The Guide provides head-to-toe and systems-based video footage for standardized patients that represent various age groups, backgrounds, and conditions.

On-campus access only
ExpertPath includes over 4,000 topics and 51,000 expert-selected images to provide comprehensive anatomic and clinical pathology decision support. Topics cover all areas of anatomic and clinical pathology and include key information such as differential lists, ancillary tests, image galleries, and specimen-handling protocols.

Henry Stewart Talks is a collection of online seminars by leading world experts covering major biomedicine and life sciences topics

JoVE Medicine video articles present medical procedures, case studies or clinical trial methodologies. Included studies are often modeled towards predictive, preventative, personalized, and practical approaches to treatment of disease.

JoVE Neuroscience is a multidisciplinary section devoted to investigations of the structure, function, physiology, and pathophysiology of the brain and nervous system.

Part I of the video series provides the foundation for performing physical examinations. It introduces several universal concepts such as inspection, palpation, percussion, auscultation, together with pulmonary and cardiovascular physical exam techniques.

Part II of the video series provides more specialized examination techniques. It covers HEENT exams, abdominal exams and male & female specific structure exams.

Part III of the video series covers physical examination of two major systems in our body: neurological and musculoskeletal, with videos explaining relevant anatomy, the rationale behind the steps, and the interpretation of the exam findings.

On-campus access only
STATdx is a diagnostic decision support system for radiology and includes over 4,300 diagnoses and 200,000 expert-selected images written by renowned radiologists in every specialty. Topics cover all radiology specialties and include key information such as differential lists, patient cases, image galleries, and normal imaging anatomy.

Covers tens of thousands of individual drug products, monographs include: drug interactions; adverse reactions; toxicity; therapeutic perspective; specific dosage and administration information; preparations, chemistry, and stability; pharmacology and pharmacokinetics; contraindications; and more.

Coverage: latest ed.
Provides up-to-date guidance on selection, prescribing, dispensing and administration of medicines and details all medicines that are generally prescribed in the UK, with special reference to their uses, precautions, contra-indications, side-effects, dosage and relative costs.

Coverage: Latest ed.
Provides up-to-date information on drug prescribing, dispensing, monitoring and administration for treating children.

British Pharmacopoeia collects quality standards for UK medicinal products and pharmaceutical substances. It is widely consulted by professionals involved in pharmaceutical research, manufacturing and testing.

Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey is a comprehensive drug reference that supports healthcare professionals in making sound medication decisions by providing the fastest access to the most current, accurate and clinically relevant drug information.

Provides point-of-care drug and clinical information.

Provides a wide range of databases tailored to meet the needs of healthcare professionals, including information related to drugs, acute care, toxicology, diseases and patient education. Patient education materials are included in the CareNotes module of MICROMEDEX.

Provides high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine including dietary supplements and integrative therapies.

This is a free internet resource on Medicine. ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

Cochrane Interactive Learning is an online course which provides over 10 hours of self-directed learning on the complete systematic review process for both new and experienced review authors.

Coverage: 1996 - present
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. These databases are: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs)

Covidence is a web based tool that can help streamline and speed up the primary screening and data extraction processes when conducting systematic reviews.

This is a free internet resource on Medicine. The ISRCTN registry is a primary clinical trial registry that accepts all clinical research studies (whether proposed, ongoing or completed), providing content validation and curation and the unique identification number necessary for publication.