Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote 20 - a bibliographical management and documentation tool: Home

Upgrade to EndNote 20

The latest version of EndNote Desktop - EndNote 20 is now available. Please refer to the EndNote X9 guide if you are using the previous version.

Things to note when you are planning to upgrade from EndNote X9 to EndNote 20:

  • It is suggested to uninstall the previous versions of EndNote.
  • EndNote 20 can open the library that was created by EndNote X9.3 or later, if you are using the EndNote X9.2 or earlier, please follow the steps below to update your EndNote library:
  1. Upgrade your EndNote to X9.3 or later version.
  2. Click on File > Open > Open Library...
  3. Select the old EndNote library file you wish to convert.
  4. A new library is created and leaves the original library unchanged.
  • If you are in the middle of writing a paper with EndNote X9, you may consider upgrading to EndNote 20 after you have finished your paper. Or you may follow the steps below to back-up your library before upgrade:
  1. Click on File.
  2. Click on Save a Copy...
  3. An .enl file and .Data folder are generated.

What is EndNote?

EndNote is a citation management tool that allows you to:

  • Import references from LibrarySearch, online databases and PDF files
  • Create bibliographies in over 5,000 styles
  • Share references with research partners and colleagues

  Download the EndNote 20 installer

 

How EndNote can help you with your assignments and research with just a few clicks?

  1. In different search platforms like CUHK LibrarySearch and databases, download the .ris files. (.ris is a file format containing bibliographic citation information that is readable by EndNote.)
  2. Add the .ris file to EndNote Library.
  3. The references will be saved in an EndNote Library.
  4. Insert the references to your working MS Word document.
  5. In-text citation and a reference list with a particular citation style will appear automatically!

 

 

Video Tutorials:

How to use EndNote 20 in seven minutes: Windows How to use EndNote 20 in seven minutes: MacOS

EndNote Desktop & EndNote Basic

There are two versions of EndNote:

  • EndNote Desktop - a standalone desktop program
  • EndNote Basic - a stripped down web-based version

By using both, stored references can be synced so that you make the same set of references available in both a particular computer and an online portal, making your stored references portable.

 

The latest version of EndNote Desktop, EndNote 20, is now available for all current CUHK students, faculty and staff.

New Features in EndNote 20:

  • Modern user interface design
  • Improved PDF reader
  • Enhanced duplicate reference detection

Download the EndNote 20 installer

If you encounter any problems during installation, please refer to installation guideline below.

 

EndNote Basic, or commonly known as EndNote Online, is an online version of EndNote which help you to:

  • Store references online
  • Sync your EndNote Desktop Library
  • Share references with other people

Register an EndNote Basic account

If you have already created an account with another Thomson Reuters product, such as Web of Science, you should use the same email address and password for EndNote Basic.

 

Unlock more features in your EndNote Basic account

Using the link above, everyone can create an EndNote Basic account(s). This is a free version and only provides limited features. To enjoy all the features of EndNote Basic, you must sync a Library created under a paid EndNote Desktop version. This synchronization is regarded as an upgrade to the EndNote Basic account, which provides unlimited storage space, support more citation styles, and more.

See the table below for details:

  EndNote Basic (free version) EndNote Basic after sync with an EndNote Desktop Library
How to access Create your account via the EndNote Online website Sync with EndNote desktop
Referencing styles available 21 7,000+
Storage for attachments 2 GB Unlimited
References you can store 50,000 Unlimited
Online resources searchable through EndNote Online 5 7,000+
References you can send from databases 9 500+

How to install EndNote Desktop

Before you start to install EndNote 20, it is suggested to uninstall any previous versions of EndNote using the Control Panel and close all Microsoft Office programmes.

Installation steps:

  1. Download the Windows Version.
  2. Locate the "EN20Installer.exe", double click the file to begin the installation. Since the installer is customized for the CUHK staff and students, please override any untrusted software/ blocking messages.
  3. Click “Next” > “Accept” > “Next” to process.
  4. Chose “I accept the license agreement” and click “Next”.
  5. Select “Typical” as the Installation Type and click “Next" > “Next" > “Next".
  6. Click the “Finish” button to exit this installation.

Click to see the step-by-step screenshot.

Before you start to install EndNote 20, it is suggested to uninstall any previous versions of EndNote using the Control Panel and close all Microsoft Office programmes.

Installation steps:

  1. Download the Macintosh version.
  2. Locate the "EndNote20SiteInstaller.dmg", double-click on it to begin the installation.
  3. After the installer window opens, double-click the icon in the center.
  4. Click “Open” if a window prompts to remind you the app is downloaded from the internet.
  5. Click the “Install” button to extract EndNote 20.
  6. Click “Next” in the Welcome window.
  7. Click “Next” in the Read Me window.
  8. Click “Done” to complete the installation.

Click to see the step-by-step screenshot.

EndNote Workshops & Course

Want to know more about using EndNote and meet our friendly Librarian? Don't miss our Library Workshops!

Click here for details and to register

You can also use the self-learning EndNote Online Course to learn at your own pace!

Click here for details and to register

Faculty Liaison Librarian

Profile Photo
Seth Kwok
Contact:
Learning Support, University Library,
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
3943-1884

Live Chat

Need Help?

The image of the University Library