Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a guide to some of the most important electronic resources in the field of Medicine. Contact the Faculty Librarian for more information and assistance.
CUHK Exam Papers includes the examination papers of the centralized undergraduate course of The Chinese University of Hong Kong from 1995 onwards.
CUHK Electronic Theses and Dissertations Collection holds the full-text of research degree’s theses and doctoral dissertations submitted by postgraduate students of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) since 1967.
APA Style: A reference guide from
the Purdue University.
Citation Reference Tools:
Li Ping Medical Library Resources
AccessCardiology addresses the most current standards of care, research, and clinical trials through references from leading experts in the field of cardiology in areas such as interventional cardiology and electrophysiology.
Coverage: 1978 - Present
AgeLine is a premier source for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy.
Henry Stewart Talks. Biomedical & Life Science Collection
Henry Stewart Talks is a collection of online seminars by leading world experts covering major biomedicine and life sciences topics
Coverage: 1995 - present
Ovid Emcare, a nursing and allied health database, provides access to journals focusing on clinical care practices, including many sources not covered by other leading nursing databases. Emcare is integrated with the EMTREE thesaurus.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
The title contains about 330 videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors. The videos show complex structures step by step in order to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
The Guide provides head-to-toe and systems-based video footage for standardized patients that represent various age groups, backgrounds, and conditions.
Diagnosing mental disorders: DSM-5 and ICD-10
The videos in this collection examine various characteristics, diagnoses, co-morbidities, and differential diagnoses using the DSM-5 and the ICD-10. Each program focuses on a specific disorder and includes dramatic scenarios to demonstrate the disorder and its symptoms.
Grant’s dissection videos
Organized by body region, each video includes narration by Dr. Alan Detton and on-screen labeling and text. The videos show students what they are expected to achieve in lab, the steps required for each dissection, and the information they need to learn for practical exams.
JoVE Science Education: Nursing Skills
This collection demonstrates medication preparation and administration, with videos highlighting important safety checks, considerations, dosage calculations, and common mistakes associated with improper medication administration.
JoVE Science Education: Physical Examinations I
Part I of the video series provides the foundation for performing physical examinations. It introduces several universal concepts such as inspection, palpation, percussion, auscultation, together with pulmonary and cardiovascular physical exam techniques.
JoVE Science Education: Physical Examinations II
Part II of the video series provides more specialized examination techniques. It covers HEENT exams, abdominal exams and male & female specific structure exams.
JoVE Science Education: Physical Examinations III
Part III of the video series covers physical examination of two major systems in our body: neurological and musculoskeletal, with videos explaining relevant anatomy, the rationale behind the steps, and the interpretation of the exam findings.
ExpertPath includes over 4,000 topics and 51,000 expert-selected images to provide comprehensive anatomic and clinical pathology decision support. Topics cover all areas of anatomic and clinical pathology and include key information such as differential lists, ancillary tests, image galleries, and specimen-handling protocols.
The database provides a comprehensive collection of downloadable medical illustrations and animations in the fields of anatomy, physiology, biology and other life sciences.
STATdx is a diagnostic decision support system for radiology and includes over 4,300 diagnoses and 200,000 expert-selected images written by renowned radiologists in every specialty. Topics cover all radiology specialties and include key information such as differential lists, patient cases, image galleries, and normal imaging anatomy.
Current Protocols in Chemical Biology
Current Protocols in Chemical Biology provides clear step-by-step instructions for validated protocols as well as enlightening overviews for researchers who need specialized chemical techniques and tools for their studies of biology and drug design.
Current protocols in Cytometry
Current Protocols in Cytometry is a "best practices" collection that distills and organizes the absolute latest techniques from the top cytometry labs and specialists worldwide.
Current Protocols in Microbiology
Current Protocols in Microbiology presents clear methodologies for research in priority areas such as emerging and neglected infectious diseases, biodefense, microbe-host interactions, and host defense.
Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry
Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry is the resource for designing and running successful research projects in the rapidly growing and changing field of nucleic acid, nucleotide, and nucleoside research.
Current Protocols in Stem Cell Biology
Current Protocols in Stem Cell Biology is designed to help researchers realize the potential of stem cells for improving human health. The protocols include basic and emerging technologies for the analysis of stem cells, as well as the processes underlying differentiation and development.
Current Protocols in Toxicology
Current Protocols in Toxicology provides step-by-step protocols for the molecular analysis of the pathways, processes, and phenomena associated with toxic insults.
Springer Protocols is a database of reproducible laboratory protocols (over 50,000) in biomedicine and life sciences. With an emphasis on comprehensiveness and clarity, each protocol is organized in an easily reproducible recipe style.
New Mobile Apps
- A clinical decision support resource with evidence-based clinical information including drug topics..
- Provides Medline search, medical calculators and library subscribed reference tools including Bates’ Pocket Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, Harrison’s Manual of Medicine, Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, etc.
2018 Atlas Perpetual
- This is the 2018 version of Human Anatomy Atlas. It includes comprehensive male and female 3D gross anatomy models, select microanatomy of tissues and organs, cadaver slices and diagnostic images, and a new Augmented Reality Gross Anatomy Lab.
2018 Muscle Premium Perpetual
- This is the 2018 version of Muscle Premium. It includes true 3D models of hundreds of muscles, bones, ligaments, bursa and nerves, with a video series showing common pathologies and anatomy of muscle and bones.
Micromedex NeoFax Essentials
- Provides evidence-based drug information to safely manage drug therapy for neonatal patients.
Micromedex Pediatrics Essentials
- Provides evidence-based drug information to safely manage drug therapy for pediatric patients.
AccessMedicine. Case Files Collection
Provides real-life case study for coursework and clinical rotations. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls and references, definitions of key terms, and review questions with detailed explanations.
An innovative learning resource that allows users to choose from its 300 interactive evidence based modules with real life case scenarios to test your skills and improve your learning.
Cochrane Interactive Learning
Cochrane Interactive Learning is an online course which provides over 10 hours of self-directed learning on the complete systematic review process for both new and experienced review authors.
Covidence is a web based tool that can help streamline and speed up the primary screening and data extraction processes when conducting systematic reviews.
Research to Publication
Research to Publication is a research methodology programme for early career academics in healthcare research, brought to you by BMJ & University of California, San Francisco.
Faculty Librarian (Medicine)
Faculty Liaison Librarian
(Faculty of Medicine)
Li PIng Medical Library
Opening Hours: 24 hours daily
When the University is in session:
Staffed services/ Book stacks
Monday - Friday 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday No Services
Address: 2/F, Lui Che Woo Clinical Sciences Building, Prince of Wales Hospital, Shatin, NT, Hong Kong.
Phone & Email:
Tel: (852) 3505-2459
Fax: (852) 2637-7817
Useful Links & Services Highlights