Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a guide to some of the most important electronic resources in the field of Evidence-Based Medicine. Contact the Faculty Librarian for more information and assistance.
BMJ Best Practice
Provides decision support through a step-by-step approach that is structured around patient consultation, covering diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention.
Cochrane Interactive Learning
Cochrane Interactive Learning is an online course which provides over 10 hours of self-directed learning on the complete systematic review process for both new and experienced review authors.
Coverage: 1996 - present
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. These databases are: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs)
Covidence is a web based tool that can help streamline and speed up the primary screening and data extraction processes when conducting systematic reviews.
DynaMed Plus is an evidence-based, clinical reference tool designed for use at point-of-care by physicians and other health care professionals. Over 3,200 topic summaries covering diseases, disorders, diagnostics, and drugs are derived from peer reviewed journals and systematic evidence review databases.
Essential Evidence Plus
Essential Evidence Plus (EE+) is a comprehensive clinical decision support system that integrates information on 9,000 diagnoses into healthcare professionals’ clinical workflows. It features over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, tools, images, and summaries covering the most common conditions, diseases, and procedures clinicians come in contact with every day. Every recommendation carries a strength-of-evidence rating that grades each recommendation’s merit on the basis of all of the evidence available in the relevant literature. EE+ can also be accessed with mobile-devices. When visiting the site on a mobile device, users will automatically be redirected to the mobile version of the site.
JBI COnNect+ (Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database) via OvidSP
JBI COnNECT+ (Clinical Online Network of Evidence for Care and Therapeutics) is a web-based system that integrates resources and tools to assist health care workers make evidence-based informed clinical decisions about the care and treatment of their patients. JBI COnNECT is made up of a series of specialty ‘nodes’ for different areas of health including acute care, aged care, burns care, diagnostic imaging, infection control, mental health, midwifery care and rehabilitation. Each node contains resources and evidence specific to that area of health.
PubMed (with full text)
PubMed contains over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, etc. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health. PubMed (with full text) contains links to CUHK’s full-text holdings.
UpToDate (On Campus Access Only)
Up-to-date is an evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical resource to assist with diagnosis and treatment by providing specific answers to clinical questions, increasing users’ clinical knowledge and improving patient care. It covers over 8,500 topic reviews in 17 medical specialties written by over 4400 editors, physicians and reviewers. They monitor more than 440 journals and incorporate new studies in the context of what has already been published in that field. These topic reviews include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations. They are fully illustrated and referenced and with links to Medline abstracts and a drug database Lexi-Comp.
APA Style: A reference guide from
the Purdue University.
Citation Reference Tools: