Skip to main content

RefWorks and the New RefWorks (formerly known as Flow): Home

RefWorks and RefWorks Flow

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to:

  • Import citations directly from most databases available through the Library website.
  • Generate a bibliography or reference list in a variety of citation styles, including APA, MLA, and Chicago.
  • Format in-text citations or footnotes in seconds.
  • Create bibliographies in different document formats such as Word, RTF, HTML, etc.
  • Organize and create your own personal database.

What is the "New RefWorks" (formerly known as Flow)? The New RefWorks is a cloud-based version of RefWorks. On top of RefWorks, Flow allows users to:

  • Manage a collection of PDFs in the users’ hard drives or in the cloud
  • Share your work with other Flow users on the web
  • Integrate and cite saved references in GoogleDocs

Connect to RefWorks

Users need to sign up for an individual account the first time they use RefWorks. To create an account or to login, go to:

 

     or     

 

To set up a new account:

  • Click on Sign up for an account at the login screen.
  • Enter the required information, including your CUHK email address. For the password field, it is recommended that you DO NOT use your Library Password for security reasons. Please assign another password of your choice.
  • Click on Register.

 

Moving records in your RefWorks account into the New RefWorks

  • Login to your RefWorks account
  • Click on “Move to the newest version of RefWorks from ProQuest” on the top of the page.

  RefWorks

Microsoft Word Plugin

ProQuest for Word, previously known as Write-N-Cite, a utility program shared by RefWorks and the New RefWorks to facilitate formatting in-text citation. With ProQuest for Word, you can cite references in a manuscript with just a click and watch your paper format instantly including in-text citations, footnotes and your bibliography. The utility installs a ProQuest/Flow tab in the MS Word ribbon or you can access it from the References tab in Microsoft Word.

To download this plugin, simply follow the steps below:

Note: Do not install ProQuest for Word with Microsoft Word running.

 

RefWorks

The New RefWorks

  1. Login to your RefWorks account.

  2. Select Write-N-Cite from the Tools menu.

  3. Click the Download now button for the latest version of Write-N-Cite.
  1. Login to your New RefWroks account.

  2. Select Tools menu in the upper right-hand corner.

  3. Click the Download now button for the version of ProQuest for Word you wish to install.

 

Compatibility

ProQuest for Word is compatible with Microsoft® Word 2007 for Windows or later and Microsoft Word 2008 and 2011 for Mac.

Instruction Tools
RefWorks Quick Start Guide
How to export citations from databases to RefWorks
Save articles from the web using “Save to RefWorks”
How to upload documents to Flow from your computer
Formatting Your Paper with Flow and Google Docs
List of ”Save to RefWorks” supported site