Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a guide to some of the most important electronic resources in the field of Geriatrics. Contact the Faculty Librarian for more information and assistance.
BMJ Best Practice
Provides decision support through a step-by-step approach that is structured around patient consultation, covering diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention.
The world’s first clinical insight engine, ClinicalKey offers faster, smarter access to relevant online clinical answers by drawing from the largest collection of peer-reviewed and evidence-based resources, which includes more than 800 medical e-books, 500 top journals, 800 evidence-based medicine monographs, and over 9,000 procedural videos covering major medical and surgical specialties.
Coverage: 1910 - present
EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research.
MEDLINE via OvidSP
Coverage: 1946 - present
US National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database of citations and abstracts currently from approximately 5,000 biomedical journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Coverage extends back to 1946 in which OLDMEDLINE records are included.
Coverage: 1923 - present
Allows users access to nearly all the ProQuest periodical databases and provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of disciplines including business and economics, environmental studies, geography, public administration, social science, political sciences, and more.
Provides full text access to 70 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Coverage: 1806 - present
Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
PubMed (with full text)
PubMed contains over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, etc. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health. PubMed (with full text) contains links to CUHK’s full-text holdings.
Social Work Abstracts
Coverage: 1977 - present
Contains more than 45,000 records from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, and more.
UpToDate (On Campus Access Only)
Up-to-date is an evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical resource to assist with diagnosis and treatment by providing specific answers to clinical questions, increasing users’ clinical knowledge and improving patient care. It covers over 8,500 topic reviews in 17 medical specialties written by over 4400 editors, physicians and reviewers. They monitor more than 440 journals and incorporate new studies in the context of what has already been published in that field. These topic reviews include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations. They are fully illustrated and referenced and with links to Medline abstracts and a drug database Lexi-Comp.
APA Style: A reference guide from
the Purdue University.
Citation Reference Tools: