Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Follow these Subject hyperlinks to find relevant materials in Library on:
Korean Studies - Databases
American Proxy Wars: Korea and Vietnam: Global Perspectives, 1946-1975
Coverage: 1946 - 1996
Includes archival materials on Korean War and Vietnam War. It is a primary source to study the Korean and Vietnamese military and civilian leaders and the U.S. strategies in Vietnam.
Cambridge Archive Editions Online
A wealth of historical reference materials, thousands of original documents of the National Archives (UK) represented in facsimile, including numerous maps, on the national heritage and political development of many countries.
Collections include: Annual reports of the Straits Settlements, 1855-1941; China political reports, 1911-1960; China political reports, 1961-1970; Hong Kong annual administration reports, 1841-1941; Japan political & economic reports, 1906-1970; Korea political & economic reports, 1882-1970; Shanghai : political and economic reports, 1842-1943; and Taiwan political and economic reports, 1861-1960.
Coverage: 1995 - current
This dictionary compiles the results of the ongoing research in East Asian pre-modern texts from Zhou dynasty materials to nineteenth-century writings. It contains pronunciations and meanings from the Sinitic cultural sphere including China, Korea, Japan, and Vietnam.
Country Intelligence Reports on Korea
This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies. The topics vary from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1947 on Korea.
The database provides 2,300 journals and 230,000 academic articles published by the Korea Institute of Excellence in full-text. It covers the subjects of arts, humanities, social science, natural science, engineering, medical science, agriculture, and more.
Evangelism in Korea : Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1884-1911
Coverage: 1884 - 1911
The correspondence records of the Board of Foreign Mission provide invaluable information on social conditions in the respective country and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century. Documenting the church’s educational, evangelical, and medical work, these are records mainly of correspondence from the mission field and the Board headquarters.
Japan and Korea : Summation of Nonmilitary Activities, 1945-1948
The rebuilding of postwar Japan and southern Korea by Allied occupation forces is described here in a series of thirty-six monthly reports. The reports offer detailed information on industrial reparations; conversion of production from military to consumer goods; land reform; restructuring of educational, public health, and welfare programs; and the establishment of a liberal, democratic political system. The reports on SCAP (Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers) activities in Korea cover the administration of civil affairs and reconstructive efforts under the military occupation government and later the South Korean Interim Government. This digital archive is based on eight microfilm rolls.
Korea : Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1963
This archive documents Korea under Japanese occupation through the postwar period. Japan annexed Korea in 1910, and in the period 1931 to 1945 it ruled Korea by a strict military regime with complete cultural assimilation the order of the day. The euphoria following Japan's defeat, and Korea's liberation, in 1945 was short lived as Soviet and American policy makers divided Korea under a joint protectorship. The Korean War, which broke out in 1950, resulted in a strategic stalemate, and the unwillingness of the United Nations to risk a larger conflict with China and perhaps the Soviet Union, ultimately resulted in a 1953 armistice, with Korea divided along roughly prewar lines. Documents from the U.S. Department of State, Division of Far Eastern Affairs, and the U.S. Department of Commerce include: "Annual Report of the Administration of Chosen, 1927-1928: Control of Opium"; "Morphine Addicts in Chosen"; laws and regulations on narcotics; an agricultural report focusing on rice production (1939); issues of repatriation of American citizens from "the Japanese Empire and from Japanese-controlled areas of the Far East" (June 1943); a report from U.S. Secretary of State Dean Rusk on a visit of a Japanese delegation, in April 1962, to South Korea and to North Korea outlining "... the Department's continuing need for intelligence on North Korea."
Web of Science. KCI-Korean Journal Database
The regional database included in Web of Science contains bibliographical information for multidisciplinary journal literature published in South Korea. These scholarly articles are provided by National Research Foundation of Korea.
KRpia : Korean Database = 한국의지식콘텐츠
The database covers 600 publications in literature, arts, economics, theology, business, law, engineering, natural science, etc. It contains a wide range of reference materials from dictionaries to biographical sources related to Korean history, literature and civilization.
Socialism On Film: the Cold War and International Propaganda
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.