Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide introduces selected sources on Linguistics and Modern Languages available in the CUHK Library and on the Internet. For assistance, please send your questions via Live Chat or contact the relevant faculty liaison librarian.
The database provides 2,300 journals and 230,000 academic articles published by the Korea Institute of Excellence in full-text. It covers the subjects of arts, humanities, social science, natural science, engineering, medical science, agriculture, and more.
The database covers 600 publications in literature, arts, economics, theology, business, law, engineering, natural science, etc. It contains a wide range of reference materials from dictionaries to biographical sources related to Korean history, literature and civilization.
Bridge cultural differences with modern languages
Bibliography of Pragmatics Online
Coverage: 1985 - current
Annotated bibliography of pragmatics and linguistics methodology to analyze interdisciplinary cognitive, social and cultural science of natural language use and communication.
Ethnologue : Languages of the World
Database to search the world's living languages by region or language. It is an important encyclopedia and statistics reference to study and analyze the world's spoken languages, language families and indigenous languages of certain areas.
John Benjamins Books
Contains e-books in linguistics, literature and literary studies, philosophy, translations and interpreting studies, communication studies and psychology.
Linguistics Abstracts Online
Coverage: 1985 - current
Provides abstracts from 600 linguistics journals published since 1985 in linguistics, communication, language acquisition, phonetics and phonology, psychology, semantics, and the studies of cognition, computers, cultures, dialogues, literatures, politics and gender related to language.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Coverage: 1973 - present
Offers abstracts of the literature in linguistics and language-related research, book abstracts, and the bibliographic citations of relevant dissertations.
Oxford Bibliographies provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the resources for a variety of academic topics. Written and reviewed by academic experts, every article in our database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Provides dictionaries on Chinese-English; French-English; German-English; Italian-English; Russian-English; and Spanish-English.
Oxford Scholarship Online. Linguistics
Oxford e-books in theoretical and historical linguistics including linguistic typology, language evolution, and language in culture and society. These linguistics and cognate fields are related to psychology, anthropology, and philosophy.
Important Academic Journals
Journal of Chinese linguistics
Access via JSTOR Arts & Sciences XIV
Available from 1973 volume: 1 issue: 1.
Most recent 4 year(s) not available.
Access via Project Muse All Journals
Available from 2015 volume: 43 issue: 1.
Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Arts)