Skip to Main Content

Linguistics and Modern Languages: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Atlas of the world's languages in danger by Christopher Moseley; Alexandre Nicolas
Call Number: P40.5.L33 A841 2010
The Australian national dictionary : Australian words and their origins by Bruce Moore; Mark Gwynn; Amanda Laugesen; Julia Robinson
Call Number: PE3601.Z5 A865 2016
Bilingual thematic dictionaries by Martin Stark
Access via Ebook Central Academic Complete International Edition
Brewer's dictionary of modern phrase and fable by John Ayto & Ian Crofton
Access via Oxford Reference Online
The Cambridge Dictionary of Linguistics by Keith Brown; Jim Miller
Call Number: P29 .B76 2013
UL Reference
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language by David Crystal
Call Number: P29 .C72 2010
UL Reference
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences by Patrick Colm Hogan (Editor)
Call Number: P29 .C28 2011
UL Reference Stack LG/F
Collins Italian dictionary by managing editor, Gaëlle Amiot-Cadey ; contributors, G. Bacchelli
Call Number: PC1640 .C6233 2009
UL Reference Stack LG/F
Collins Robert French dictionary = Le Robert & Collins dictionnaire français-anglais, anglais-français by [project manager, Dominique le Fur]
Call Number: PC2640 .C69 2010
CC Reference
Collins Spanish Unabridged Dictionary, 10th Edition by Collins
Call Number: PC4640 .C53 2016
UL Reference
Concise Encyclopedia of Languages of the World by Keith Brown (Editor-In-Chief); Sarah Ogilvie (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: P371 .C66 2009
UL Reference Stack LG/F
Concise Encyclopedia of Philosophy of Language and Linguistics by Alex Barber (Editor); Robert J. Stainton (Editor)
Call Number: P107 .C66 2010
UL Reference Stack LG/F
Dictionary of French Slang and Colloquial Expressions by Henry Strutz; H. Strutz
Call Number: PC3741 .S77 2009
CC Reference
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics by David Crystal
Call Number: P29 .C65 2008
UL Reference Stack LG/F
A Dictionary of Sociolinguistics by Joan Swann; Ana Deumert; Theresa Lillis; Rajend Mesthrie
Call Number: P40 .D477 2004
UL Reference Stack LG/F
A Dictionary of Stylistics by Katie Wales
Call Number: P301 .W35 2011
UL Reference
A Dictionary of the French and English Languages by Gabriel Surenne
Call Number: PC2640 .S87 2010
UL Reference Stack LG/F
Dictionary of untranslatables : a philosophical lexicon by edited by Barbara Cassin
Call Number: B51 .V6313 2014
Access via JSTOR Books Open Access
The Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics by Carol A. Chapelle (Editor)
Call Number: P129 .E527 2013
UL Reference
Encyclopedia of Arabic language and linguistics by general editor, Kees Versteegh
Call Number: PJ6031 .E53 2006
Encyclopedia of German Literature by Matthias Konzett (Editor)
Call Number: PT91 .E53 2000
UL Reference Stack LG/F
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by Kimberly L. Meinken, editor
Access via Ebook Central DDA Titles
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by Kimberly L. Meinken (Editor)
Access via Ebook Central DDA Titles
Encyclopedia of Language Development by Patricia J. Brooks (Editor); Vera Kempe (Editor)
Call Number: P118 .E533 2014
The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory by Michael Ryan (General Editor); Gregory Castle (Volume Editor); Robert Eaglestone (Volume Editor); M. Keith Booker (Volume Editor)
Call Number: PN81 .E435 2011
UL Reference Stack LG/F
Access via Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedia of Literary Modernism by Paul Poplawski
Call Number: PN56.M54 E53 2003
UL Reference Stack LG/F
An encyclopedia of the 140 languages of China : speakers, dialects, linguistic elements, script and distribution by Walter Shearer; Sun Hongkai
Call Number: PL1031 .S43 2017
Ethnologue. Languages of Africa and Europe by Gary F. Simons (Editor); Charles D. Fennig (Editor)
Ethnologue. Languages of Asia by Gary F. Simons (Editor); Charles D. Fennig (Editor)
Ethnologue. Languages of the Americas and the Pacific by Gary F. Simons (Editor); Charles D. Fennig (Editor)
Garzanti Hazon : inglese-italiano, italiano-inglese by Garzanti linguistica
Call Number: PC1640 .G37 2009
ISBN: 8848003249
UL Reference Stack LG/F
The Handbook of Language Variation and Change by J. K. Chambers (Editor); Natalie Schilling (Editor)
Access via Wiley Online Library
Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater by Richard Young, Odile Cisneros
Access via Ebook Central Academic Complete International Edition
Historical Dictionary of the Catalans by Helena Buffery; Elisenda Marcer
Access via Ebook Central Perpetual Titles
Access via Ebook Central Academic Complete International Edition
Le Lexis : le dictionnaire érudit de la langue française by [direction éditoriale, Frédéric Haboury].
Call Number: PC2625 .L36 2009
UL Reference
Le petit Robert : dictionnaire alphabétique et analogique de la langue fran¸fcaise : nouvelle edition du Petit Robert by de Paul Robert ; texte remanié et amplifié sous la direction de Josette Rey-Debove et Alain Rey
Call Number: PC2625 .R5543 2011
UL Reference Stack LG/F
Linguistics by Oxford University Press
Access via Oxford Reference Online
Longman Dictionary of Language Teaching and Applied Linguistics by Jack Richards; Richard W. Schmidt
Access via Ebook Central Perpetual Titles
Lo Zingarelli : vocabolario della lingua italiana by di Nicola Zingarelli
Call Number: PC1625 .Z5 2009
UL Reference Stack LG/F
A New Pronouncing Dictionary of the Spanish and English Languages by Mariano Velázquez De La Cadena; Mariano Velzquez De La Cadena; Edward Gray; Juan L. Iribas
Call Number: PC4640 .V5 2010
CC Reference
Oxford-Paravia Italian Dictionary by Oxford Dictionaries Staff
Call Number: PC1640 .O95 2010
CC Reference
Oxford-River Books English-Thai Dictionary by Oxford Dictionaries Staff
Call Number: PL4187.E5 O94 2010
NA Reference
Oxford Latin Dictionary by Oxford Dictionaries Staff (Editor)
Call Number: PA2365.E5 O9 2012
UL Law Reference
Philosophy of Language A-Z by Alessandra Tanesini
Access via Ebook Central Academic Complete International Edition
Access via Ebook Central Perpetual Titles
Access via eBook University Press Collection (EBSCOhost)
Access via JSTOR Books Complimentary Collection
Routledge Encyclopedia of Second Language Acquistiion by Peter Robinson (Editor)
Call Number: P118.2 .R677 2013
UL Reference
The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition and Corpora by Nicole Tracy-Ventura (Editor); Magali Paquot (Editor)
Access via Taylor & Francis eBooks Complete
Tuttle Learner's Korean-English Dictionary by Kyubyong Park
Call Number: PL937.E5 P36 2012
NA Reference
Webster's new world German dictionary : German-English, English-German
Call Number: PF3640 .C637 2017
Wörterbuch der Kollokationen im Deutschen by Uwe Quasthoff
Call Number: PF3585 .Q83 2011
CC Reference
新西汉词典 = Nuevo diccionario Español-Chino by 主编孙义桢
Call Number: PC4645.C63 X55 2010
CC Reference
晚清民初粤語法漢詞典 by [法]路易·奥巴扎克编著
Call Number: PL1736 .A88 2018
香港手語詞典 = Hong Kong Sign Language : a trilingual dictionary with Linguistic Descriptions by 鄧慧蘭編撰
Call Number: HV2476.5.H66 D46 2007
UL Reference, UL HK Studies
조선말련관어대사전 = 朝鮮語聨關語大辭典 by 고려언어연구원
Call Number: PL935 .C483 2007
NA Reference
한국어교육을위한한국어연어사전 = Korean collocation dictionary for learners by 김하수 ... [et al.]
Call Number: PL912 .H36 2007
NA Reference

Need Help?

Phone us at 3943 7305
WhatsApp us at 5578 8898; 9am - 5pm (Mon-Fri)
Send an email to library@cuhk.edu.hk
Make an appointment
for the Research Consultation Service (for postgraduate students and CUHK faculty members)