Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Encyclopedia of Chinese Language and Linguistics
It offers a systematic and comprehensive overview of the languages of China and the different ways in which they are and have been studied.
Ethnologue : Languages of the World
Database to search the world's living languages by region or language. It is an important encyclopedia and statistics reference to study and analyze the world's spoken languages, language families and indigenous languages of certain areas.
Provides encyclopedias, almanacs and reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
An integrated database to search across resources of Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors, Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Gale Literature: LitFinder, and Gale Literature: Something About the Author.
Handbook of Pragmatics
An encyclopedia of linguistic pragmatics, an interdisciplinary studies of cognitive science, social science, cultural science and natural language use. It can be searched by article, author, subject and keyword.
The Handbook of Translation Studies (HTS)
Handbook of Translation Studies is an extensive reference work and offers peer-reviews articles on a large range of topics, traditions, and methods in the research field of translation and interpretation. It aims to disseminate knowledge about translation and interpreting and it will be of interest to a relatively broad audience.
Le Grand Ricci Online
Covers comprehensive and important Chinese words and their French expressions. It is a Chinese-French dictionary of great significance in Chinese history and culture.
Online English language dictionary for word definitions, meanings and pronunciation.
Oxford English Dictionary
Provides the complete text of the printed version of Oxford English Dictionary, containing obsolete old English words, as well as the broadest possible range of general and specialist vocabulary.
Oxford Handbooks Online
The complete texts of the Oxford handbooks in Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion online. Extensive links make the online handbooks easy to navigate making these valuable reference resources more easily discoverable, accessible and searchable. Contains 13,000+ in-depth essays by the world's leading scholars.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Provides dictionaries on Chinese-English; French-English; German-English; Italian-English; Russian-English; and Spanish-English.
Oxford Reference Online Premium
Contains over 150 dictionaries, language reference, and subject reference works on art, architecture, biological sciences, computing science, business, science, English language, social sciences, general reference and quotations, nutrition, etc .
Wiley Online Library
Provides full text access to journals, reference works, books, and databases published by Wiley in all the disciplines.
Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Arts)