Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide introduces selected reference sources on China Studies available in the CUHK Library and on the Internet. For assistance, please send your questions via Live Chat or contact the relevant faculty liaison librarian.
Chinese Maritime Customs Service Publications
The Maritime Customs Service of China compiled the publications from 1859 to 1949. This collection is sourced from the 2nd Historical Archives of China in Nanjing and incorporates its Statistical Series publication. It is an important source to study China's customs administration, international trade, treaty ports and tax returns from mid-nineteenth to mid-twentieth century.
FBI File on Owen Lattimore
American sinologist Owen Lattimore had conducted research throughout China from 1938 to 1950. In 1952 he was charged of being espionage to promote Communist interest. This file related to Lattimore's leftist sympathiesis is sourced from Federal Bureau of Investigation Library.
Norman Bethune Papers
Norman Bethune (1890–1939), a Canadian thoracic surgeon, is a dedicated Communist to help the Red Army in China. Sourced from McGill University, this collection consists of letter correspondences, newspaper and magazine clippings, photographs, pamphlets, and research materials.
Open a window for more China Studies
China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980
Provides English-language sources of relationship between China and the West in the period of 1793-1980. Sources from School of Oriental and African Studies and the British Library, London.
China and the Modern World
A Collection of 17 missionary, sinology and literary periodicals from 1817 to 1949, i.e. Chinese recorder, West China missionary news, China mission / Christian year book, Educational review, Canton miscellany, Chinese miscellany, Chinese and Japanese repository, Notes and queries on China and Japan, China review, New China review, Indo-Chinese gleaner, Bulletin of the Catholic University of Peking, Yenching journal of social studies, China quarterly, T'ien Hsia monthly, China critic, and China year book.
The Cultural Revolution in Images : Caricature-posters from Guangzhou 1966-1977
The collection “The Cultural Revolution in Images: Caricature-Posters from Guangzhou 1966-1977” showcases the two hundred and sixteen original posters from the Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) Library. The posters are divided into two groups: Red Guards’ posters dated between 1966-1967; and images produced against the Gang of Four dated between 1976-1977. The aim of this digital collection is to make these valuable visual sources available to the academic community, and to allow scholars to employ them for research and teaching.
Le Grand Ricci Online
Covers comprehensive and important Chinese words and their French expressions. It is a Chinese-French dictionary of great significance in Chinese history and culture.
Papers of British consulates and legation in China (1722-1951)
Coverage: 1722 - 1951
This database provides miscellaneous papers and reports from the British legation and consulates in China. The digitized archives contain the catalogue of embassy archives from 1727 to 1859; trade and intelligence reports; records of legal proceedings; miscellaneous papers of the Chinese Secretary's Office; an entry book of papers relating to the East India Company in China; claims arising from Sino-Japanese hostilities, 1927 to 1940; accounts; circulars, etc.
中國文化大革命文庫 Chinese Cultural Revolution Database
中國期刊全文數據庫 China Journal Net (CJN)
收錄 8700 多種重要期刊，內容覆蓋自然科學、工程技術、農業、哲學、醫學、人文社會科學等各個領域。
近代報紙數據庫 (Modern Newspapers in China)
Important Academic Journals
China review by
Access via JSTOR Arts & Sciences XII
Access via ProQuest Asian & European Business Collection
Access via ProQuest Business Premium Collection
Access via ProQuest Social Science Database
Call Number: AP95.C4 E7
Access via Free E- Journals
Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Arts)