BioRender is the science illustration tool to create diagrams for publications, presentations, posters, patents, and outreach. It provides over 50,000 icons designed by certified science illustrators and 5,000 templates to help you get started.
Contains full-text searchable digital library of early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books.
Wiley Digital Archives: Environmental Science and History
Environmental Science and History archive focuses on critical aspects of anthropogenic change, with archival collections from: Royal Botanic Gardens, The National Archives (UK), The Commonwealth Forestry Institute and CAB International (CABI), Royal Entomological Society and Ecological Society of America.
Gain Deep Insight on Companies Around the Globe. Explore the world's companies through expert analysis such as SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets and more.
This database online resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. It contains reference content is merged with full-text magazine, academic journal, and news articles; experiments, images, videos, audio files, that users can browse by topic.
This database provides extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Gale Literature: Criticism. Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. It contains thousands of hard-to-find essays.
This database contains biography of authors and their works, including a large collection of full-text critical and literary analysis. The database provides researchers with material for their literary responses and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and perspectives are represented.
This database contains biographical information on more than 149,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and informative essays about their lives and work.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
The Dictionary of Literary Biography provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
This database provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
This database examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 290 volumes, 20,000 entries, and nearly 30,000 images.
This newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, and many other fields. It contain more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
Coverage: 1799- 1986
This collection spans 15th to 20th century Latin America and the Caribbean, providing information about the indigenous peoples of the region, the Conquest (la Conquista), colonial rule, religion, struggles for independence, and political, economic, and social progress and issues in newly independent nations.
The archive is made up archival collections from the United States and Europe, including original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, and so on.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender
The database provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
British Literary Manuscripts Online
Coverage: 1120 - 1900
This database contains facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials for research and teaching. The manuscripts range from medieval texts to the works of Oscar Wilde and users can browse the manuscripts individually or search the metadata for author names, titles, manuscript numbers or notes.
Declassified Documents Online: Twentieth-century British intelligence
This collection allows researchers to explore the role of signals intelligence, human agents, diplomats, politicians and the armed forces in the gathering of intelligence from across this empire and beyond, and to explore the impact this had on crucial events and decisions.
Decolonization: Politics and independence in former colonial and commonwealth territories
Politics and independence in former colonial and commonwealth territories
This database contains primary source materials from former British colonies and Commonwealth nations and some from former French and Portuguese territories, to provide valuable primary source material created for local audiences by local actors during a period of enormous global change. After the Second World War decolonization movements around the world gathered pace, and from the small port colony of Aden to the vast Indian sub-continent, new borders were set and new nations built.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
As a new American nation emerged in the 1800s, the first draft of history was written by those who experienced it and recorded it in newspaper pages from coast to coast. Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers.
Political Extremism and Radicalism
North America, Europe, and Australasia throughout the twentieth century have experienced a variety of forms of extremism and radicalism that have shaped mainstream political thinking as well as cultural norms. To comprehend modern governmental and societal systems researchers must understand the environment that created them, their origins, and their adversaries. The Political Extremism and Radicalism series contains primary sources on fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum through rare, hard to access primary sources. Content supports researchers on philosophical, social, political, and economic ideologies as well as on contemporary issues surrounding gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights, universal suffrage, and more.
Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970
Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970
This collection of primary sources documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926
History of the Americas, 1500-1926
This collection is drawn from Joseph Sabin's famed nineteenth century bibliography Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Book relating to America from its Discovery to the Present Time. This digital collection offers a perspective on life in the western hemisphere, encompassing the arrival of the Europeans on the shores of North America in the late fifteenth century to the first decades of the twentieth century.
Slavery and Anti-slavery: a transnational archive
This database comprises of archival collection on the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Material is sourced from over 60 libraries, including Amistad Research Center, Bibliothèque nationale de France, the National Archives, Oberlin College, Oxford University, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and Yale University.
Coverage: 1509 -1782
This primary source collection contains the British State Papers, the papers of the Secretary of State from Henry VIII's accession in 1509 to 1782. Covering a wide range of documents, subjects, and importance, they concern internal English/British affairs and administration of the country, and foreign affairs, marriage alliances, treaties and wars. Here are original letters written by Henry VIII and subsequent monarchs, ministers, officials and clerks, together with those sent from European rulers and their officials, and the people of Britain of all social levels.
The Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers
American Civil Liberties Union Papers
Collection of papers spans the majority of the twentieth century, from 1912 to 1990. Scholars and students in twentieth-century American social history and politics will find this archive of special interest because of its focus on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.
The Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, 1600-1970
Contains monograph publications an interpretive analysis of various legal codes, the "primary sources" of law. (Note that the term "primary sources" is used not in the historian's sense of a manuscript, letter or diary, but rather in the legal sense of a case, statute or regulation.) Jurisdictions include Great Britain, Ireland, France, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, and more.
The Making of Modern Law: Landmark Records and Briefs of the U.S. Courts of Appeals
Landmark Records and Briefs of the U.S. Courts of Appeals
This collection focuses on the first ninety years of the federal appellate court system's history, drawing together a remarkable collection of legal primary source documents long unavailable to researchers. This collection chronicles the evolution of the appellate courts, deepening our understanding of social, economic, political, and historical issues from 1891 until the start of the Reagan era in 1980. This collection makes searchable nearly two million pages of briefs from appellants, appellees, and supporters (through amicus briefs). It also includes appellant and appellee replies, appendices, memoranda, petitions, statements, transcripts, and more.
The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources
Coverage: 1620 - 1926
The database contains primary sources on researching American legal history—a fully searchable digital archive of the published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state and territorial codes, municipal codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests, and more.
The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926
Full-text collection of documents from Anglo-American trials. It also includes works pertaining to English-speaking jurisdictions such as the United States, Britain, Ireland, and Canada, this digital archive also contains English-language titles about trials in other jurisdictions, such as France. Researchers will find published trial transcripts; popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery, and other scandalous crimes; unofficially published accounts of trials, briefs, arguments, and other trial documents that were printed as separate publications; official records of legislative proceedings.
The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court records and briefs, 1832-1978
U.S. Supreme Court records and briefs, 1832-1978
United States Supreme Court records and briefs, 1832-1978
Contains comprehensive online collection of records and briefs brought before the nation's highest court by leading legal practitioners—many who later became judges and associates of the Supreme Court itself.
Coverage: 1888 - recent
National Geographic Virtual Library brings the National Geographic Society to the library in a cross-searchable platform. The collection includes National Geographic Magazine, National Geographic History and National Geographic Traveler.
Prompt Books from the Folger Shakespeare Library
Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
Theatres, Players and Performance
This collection of documents offers insights into the performance practice in the particular space of the reconstructed Globe Theatre. It details the way in which the theatre was constructed as a place of radical experiment. It documents over 200 performances through prompt books, wardrobe notes, programmes, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.
This was an English-language magazine was based in Hong Kong that covered business news in the Asia-Pacific region, including politics, economics, international relations, and the arts/culture. Following an initial emphasis on China and Hong Kong, the scope of the magazine’s coverage subsequently expanded to encompass other regions and countries, including Japan, India and Australia, as well as smaller Asian states.