To learn more, you may refer to the following online resources provided by Scopus.
► Watch online tutorials on Scopus
Scopus is a multidisciplinary database with citations and abstracts from peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, books, and conference proceedings across a wide variety of disciplines. Apart from finding relevant and authoritative research, it is also an analytical resource for citation analysis and journal ranking statistics.
View steps to search Scopus by clicking on the links below.
Step 1. Type your search term* in the text box.
* when conducting a phrase search, Scopus automatically joins the two words with AND, so the words in the phrase may not be searched together. You’ll get more accurate search results when you enclose the words with double quotation marks to search as “loose phrase” e.g. “self manag*” will search for documents where the two words "self and management", "self and managing", or "self and managed" appear together.
Step 2. The default setting is searching the Article title, Abstract and Keywords of the documents. You can choose a specific field to search from the drop-down menu.
Step 3. To conduct a search on Title & Abstract, select Article title from the drop-down menu.
Step 4. Click +Add search field to add additional field.
Step 5. Combine the new search field with Boolean operators AND, OR, or NOT. To conduct Title & Abstract search, select OR.
Step 6. Select Abstract to add the abstract search. Copy the same keywords to the text box and run the search.
You may also choose to search the search concept one by one.
Step 1.
Step 2. You will see the search results on the first search concept.
Step 3. Select the Search icon at the top main menu bar to return to the main search page.
Step 4. Repeat Step 1-Step 3. above for the second search concept and run the search. Select the Search icon at the top main menu bar again to return to the main search page.
Step 5. Scroll down to the bottom of the page for the Search History. Select the search queries and click Combine queries.
Step 6. The default setting to combine the queries is Boolean operator AND. Use the pull-down menu to select other option. Click Show results to combine the search.
Step 7. The combined results is added to a new search row at the top. Click on the no. of search results to view the full list of search results.
|
You can limit or filter your search results using the refinement panel on the left of the page. There are different options to refine your results, including, but not limited to:
The limit options are different with other medical databases that some options such as sex, age groups, human or animal, type of publication (case study, clinical trials, review articles, systematic review, meta-analysis) are not available. |
 |
View Full Text & Export Search Results
Step 1. Click Show all abstracts icon to open up the abstract of all documents at the search results.
Step 2. Click Findit@CUHK Library to check if full text is available.
Step 3. The Full Text icon provides PDF full text of the document.
Step 4. Press the Export icon for options to export the search records to various file types, reference managers and other platforms, for example,
Step 5. The default setting is exporting all documents on this page. You may specify the document numbers you want to export or click All (from previous Step 4.)
Save Search History & Run Saved Search
Once you have constructed your search, look for the icon Save search to save your search history or search queries at your Scopus account.
To run the saved search, sign into your Scopus account at the top right corner of the page. Select Saved searches and click on the search name to run the search. You may also select Search at the menu bar (at the top of the page) and scroll down to Search History and click on Saved searches (next to Search History) to retrieve the search.
