Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medical Database Guides: EMBASE

Advanced Search in EMBASE (Ovid)

Access EMBASE:

From the A-Z Databases list on the Library homepage, select EMBASE.

EMBASE

Embase (Excerpta Medica dataBASE) is a comprehensive biomedical and pharmacological database of drug, disease and device information including 32 million+ records indexed from over 8,500 indexed peer-reviewed journals.


Advanced Search 

The Advanced Search screen offers more ways to search by abstract, titles, keywords ,etc. and offers Subject Heading mapping.

Search with keywords

Step 1. Type your search term in the text box. You can indicate the search field to search for your search term(s). Here are some of the main options:

Type .tw.  after your search term(s) e.g. dupixent .tw. This will search for the title (TI), abstract (AB) and the drug trade name (TN).

Type .ti. after your search term(s) e.g. dupixent .ti. This will search for references where your words appear in the title (TI) only. 

Type .ab. after your search term(s) e.g. dupixent .ab. This will search for references where your words appear in the abstract (AB) only

Type .ti,ab. after your search term(s) e.g. dupixent .ti,ab. This will search for references where your words appear in the title (TI) or abstract (AB).

Step 2. 

  • The box Map Term to Subject Heading is checked by default. Your search term will be mapped to the Subject Heading if you do not specify a particular search field to search (as in Step 1).
  • If you uncheck the box Map Term to Subject Heading and do not specify a particular search field to search, the default search setting would be ‘multi-purpose’ (.mp.) field, which looks in title, abstract, subject headings, heading word, drug trade name, original title, device manufacturer, drug manufacturer, device trade name, keyword.



Search with EMTREE Subject Headings Mapping

If an EMTREE Subject Headings can be mapped for your search term, a list of Subject Headings is shown.

Step 3.  Select the relevant Subject Heading(s) to search.

Step 4.  Check Explode if you want to include the selected MeSH term and all of its more specific terms (narrower MeSH) in the search.

Step 5.  Check Focus if you want to limit your search to those articles in which the subject heading is considered as the major point of the article.

Step 6.  If more than one Subject Heading is selected, choose AND, OR for your Boolean operator and press Continue

Step 7.  Select Subheadings of the MeSH if you want to focus on specific aspects of the MeSH heading that are pertinent to the article. If not, press Continue to add the MeSH to your search.

 


Combine & Limit Searches

Step 8. Check the boxes to combine search strategies.

Step 9. Combine the selected searches using AND, OR Boolean operators.

Step 10. Limit your search results by year, publication type or language and press Search. Press the Additional Limits button for more limiting options.


View & Output Results

Step 1. Click the abstract view icon to include the abstract of the article at the search results. 

Step 2. Full text may be available as PDF for some article records.

Step 3. For those records without full text provided, press the Findit@CUHK Library button or click the Full Text link to search for full text.

Step 4. Press the icons to email, save record(s) to folder or export records to citation management tools, e.g. EndNote


Save search & run saved search

Step 1. Once you have constructed your search, select Save All button underneath your search history. You will be prompted to login/register an account with Ovid.  

Step 2. Give your search a name. You can also use the comment field for adding any extra notes about the search. The default setting of your search is Permanent (which means it is saved permanently). You can choose to make your search Temporary (i.e. save for 168 hours). You can also set up auto alert for your search by selecting the AutoAlert (SDI) option. Then it will prompt you to choose how frequently you wish to receive the results alert, and the delivery options (Email, RSS or in My Projects). 

Click the Save button to save the setting.

To run your saved search, select View Saved button, at the top right hand corner of the page.

Step 1. Select the saved search you want to run.

Step 2. Select Run