Medical Library Guides: Key E-Resources

Provides decision support through a step-by-step approach that is structured around patient consultation, covering diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention.

The world’s first clinical insight engine, ClinicalKey offers faster, smarter access to relevant online clinical answers by drawing from the largest collection of peer-reviewed and evidence-based resources, which includes more than 800 medical e-books, 500 top journals, 800 evidence-based medicine monographs, and over 9,000 procedural videos covering major medical and surgical specialties.

DynaMed is an evidence-based, clinical reference tool designed for use at point-of-care by physicians and other health care professionals. Over 3,200 topic summaries covering diseases, disorders, diagnostics, and drugs are derived from peer reviewed journals and systematic evidence review databases.

Essential Evidence Plus (EE+) is a comprehensive clinical decision support system that integrates information on 9,000 diagnoses into healthcare professionals’ clinical workflows. It features over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, tools, images, and summaries covering the most common conditions, diseases, and procedures clinicians come in contact with every day. Every recommendation carries a strength-of-evidence rating that grades each recommendation’s merit on the basis of all of the evidence available in the relevant literature. EE+ can also be accessed with mobile-devices. When visiting the site on a mobile device, users will automatically be redirected to the mobile version of the site.

On-campus access only
Up-to-date is an evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical resource to assist with diagnosis and treatment by providing specific answers to clinical questions, increasing users’ clinical knowledge and improving patient care. It covers over 8,500 topic reviews in 17 medical specialties written by over 4400 editors, physicians and reviewers. They monitor more than 440 journals and incorporate new studies in the context of what has already been published in that field. These topic reviews include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations. They are fully illustrated and referenced and with links to Medline abstracts and a drug database Lexi-Comp.

VisualDx is a diagnostic decision support system designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases. It provides instant access to specialist knowledge at the point of care, merging medical images with concise clinical text. As the clinician enters actual patient findings, VisualDx creates a visual differential diagnosis. VisualDx Mobile is available as native iPhone, iPad, and Android apps.

Provides a wide range of databases tailored to meet the needs of healthcare professionals, including information related to drugs, acute care, toxicology, diseases and patient education. Patient education materials are included in the CareNotes module of MICROMEDEX.

Provides point-of-care drug and clinical information.

Coverage: latest ed.
Provides up-to-date guidance on selection, prescribing, dispensing and administration of medicines and details all medicines that are generally prescribed in the UK, with special reference to their uses, precautions, contra-indications, side-effects, dosage and relative costs.

British Pharmacopoeia collects quality standards for UK medicinal products and pharmaceutical substances. It is widely consulted by professionals involved in pharmaceutical research, manufacturing and testing.

A trusted source for medicines information for over 120 years, Martindale provides synopses of treatment for more than 660 diseases and includes over 6,300 drug monographs, 150,000 preparations, 40,700 references and 14,700 manufacturers.

The Merk Index is a reference source for chemical, pharmaceutical and biomedical informaiton that contains more than 10,000 monographs, 28 supplemental tables and 450 organic name reactions. Each monograph provides descriptions of more than 18,000 substances across multiple scientific disciplines including drugs for humans and animals, organic chemicals used in research and manufacturing, plants and traditional medicines, natural products, agricultural chemicals, food additives and fragrances.

Provides high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine including dietary supplements and integrative therapies.

Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey is a comprehensive drug reference that supports healthcare professionals in making sound medication decisions by providing the fastest access to the most current, accurate and clinically relevant drug information.

The title contains about 330 videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors. The videos show complex structures step by step in order to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.

The Guide provides head-to-toe and systems-based video footage for standardized patients that represent various age groups, backgrounds, and conditions.

On-campus access only
ExpertPath includes over 4,000 topics and 51,000 expert-selected images to provide comprehensive anatomic and clinical pathology decision support. Topics cover all areas of anatomic and clinical pathology and include key information such as differential lists, ancillary tests, image galleries, and specimen-handling protocols.

GIBLIB is an online platform providing surgical videos, medical lectures and courses created by leading medical institutions including Mayo Clinic, UCSF, and Cedars Sinai. Its unique features include 360-degree virtual reality videos of surgical procedures featuring surgeon points-of-view and other angles to showcase support provided by the surgical team.

Organized by body region, each video includes narration by Dr. Alan Detton and on-screen labeling and text. The videos show students what they are expected to achieve in lab, the steps required for each dissection, and the information they need to learn for practical exams.

Henry Stewart Talks is a collection of online seminars by leading world experts covering major biomedicine and life sciences topics

Incision is an online learning platform on various surgical skills. There are more than 370 surgical procedures, filmed in 3D format and from a surgeon's point of view. There are also step-by-step guides for each surgery.

Part I of the video series provides the foundation for performing physical examinations. It introduces several universal concepts such as inspection, palpation, percussion, auscultation, together with pulmonary and cardiovascular physical exam techniques.

Part II of the video series provides more specialized examination techniques. It covers HEENT exams, abdominal exams and male & female specific structure exams.

Part III of the video series covers physical examination of two major systems in our body: neurological and musculoskeletal, with videos explaining relevant anatomy, the rationale behind the steps, and the interpretation of the exam findings.

The database provides a comprehensive collection of downloadable medical illustrations and animations in the fields of anatomy, physiology, biology and other life sciences.

On-campus access only
STATdx is a diagnostic decision support system for radiology and includes over 4,300 diagnoses and 200,000 expert-selected images written by renowned radiologists in every specialty. Topics cover all radiology specialties and include key information such as differential lists, patient cases, image galleries, and normal imaging anatomy.

Current Protocols Essential Laboratory Techniques provides in-depth information for researchers looking for fresh insight into fundamental techniques.

Designed specifically for life scientists, the Protocols is good for mastering the vast array of computational tools needed to not only decipher the tremendous amounts of information provided by today’s research techniques, but also to present the results in a meaningful way.

The Current Protocols in Cell Biology is a continuously updating essential reference for researchers who study the cell, its internal and external environment, and its relationships to other cells.

Current Protocols in Chemical Biology provides clear step-by-step instructions for validated protocols as well as enlightening overviews for researchers who need specialized chemical techniques and tools for their studies of biology and drug design.

Current Protocols in Cytometry is a "best practices" collection that distills and organizes the absolute latest techniques from the top cytometry labs and specialists worldwide.

Current Protocols in Microbiology presents clear methodologies for research in priority areas such as emerging and neglected infectious diseases, biodefense, microbe-host interactions, and host defense.

Current Protocols in Neuroscience is the most comprehensive collection of validated methods and preclinical models for researchers investigating the nervous system.

Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry is the resource for designing and running successful research projects in the rapidly growing and changing field of nucleic acid, nucleotide, and nucleoside research.

Current Protocols in Pharmacology is a key reference work that documents the broad spectrum of integrative techniques used in drug discovery and in the study of disease pathophysiology.

Current Protocols in Stem Cell Biology is designed to help researchers realize the potential of stem cells for improving human health. The protocols include basic and emerging technologies for the analysis of stem cells, as well as the processes underlying differentiation and development.

Current Protocols in Toxicology provides step-by-step protocols for the molecular analysis of the pathways, processes, and phenomena associated with toxic insults.

The protocols.io is a platform for creating, managing, and sharing research methods and protocols. It provides a structured way for researchers to easily create, modify, and share their protocols with individuals, private groups, or the public. Protocols can be assigned with DOIs that made them easily citable, sharable and discoverable.

Springer Nature Experiments is a research solution allowing researchers to quickly find and evaluate protocols and methods in biomedicine and life sciences. This platform covers the content from: Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, Nature Reviews Methods Primers, and Springer Protocols.

Springer Protocols is a database of reproducible laboratory protocols (over 50,000) in biomedicine and life sciences. With an emphasis on comprehensiveness and clarity, each protocol is organized in an easily reproducible recipe style.

Provides real-life case study for coursework and clinical rotations. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls and references, definitions of key terms, and review questions with detailed explanations.

BMJ Case Reports is an online collection of case reports with more than 7,000 articles from over 70 countries. It provides a focused, peer-reviewed collection of cases in all disciplines, making it easy to find clinically important information on common and rare conditions.

An innovative learning resource that allows users to choose from its 300 interactive evidence based modules with real life case scenarios to test your skills and improve your learning.

Cochrane Interactive Learning is an online course which provides over 10 hours of self-directed learning on the complete systematic review process for both new and experienced review authors.

Covidence is a web based tool that can help streamline and speed up the primary screening and data extraction processes when conducting systematic reviews.

Karger Campus is a series of online courses with interactive content for early career researchers to learn about the process of drafting and publishing a manuscript in scholarly communication.

Research to Publication is a research methodology programme for early career academics in healthcare research, brought to you by BMJ & University of California, San Francisco.