Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide introduces selected reference sources on Western History and Civilization available in the CUHK Library and on the Internet. For assistance, please send your questions via Live Chat or contact the relevant faculty liaison librarian.
America's Historical Newspapers : Early American Newspapers
The core of America’s Historical Newspapers is Early American Newspapers, the most extensive resource of its kind for exploring the American past.
Reports of the Immigrant Commission, 1907-1910
Contains reports by the U.S. Immigration Commission on the large waves of immigration to America in the early 20th century and the effects on their country with details of immigrant nationalities included.
UNESDOC Digital Library
The UNESCO Digital Library is the repository of UNESCO’s institutional memory and a source of high-quality information on UNESCO activities (in education, natural sciences, social and human sciences, culture, and communication and information), with more than 350,000 documents dating back to 1945. It includes the collections of the UNESCO Library and several documentation centres in UNESCO’s Field Offices and Institutes, as well as the UNESCO Archives. The essential purpose of the UNESCO Digital Library is to share knowledge and to transmit it to future generations.
Women's Studies Archive
Much of history is one-sided, focusing mainly on the male perspective and leaving women's voices unheard. Bringing women’s stories to light, the Women’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals. By providing the opportunity to witness female perspectives, Gale’s Women’s Studies Archive is an essential source for researchers working in Women’s History, Gender Studies and Social History.
Meet at Hong Kong Heritage Museum for "Claude Monet: The Spirit of Place"
Brill's Medieval Reference Library
E-reference books on medieval studies from Brill publishers.
Produced by Human Relations Area Files, Yale University. Its information is organized into cultures/traditions, and ethnic groups for cross-cultural and archaeological studies. It can be searched by culture and country/region or subject/word.
eHRAF World Cultures
Produced by Human Relations Area Files, Yale University. Its information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups for cross-cultural studies. It can be searched by culture and country/region or subject/word.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Coverage: 1701 - 1800
Monograph collection of treatises on the development of law in the British Empire.
Coverage: 1600 - 1909
Provides the documents of the 17th to 20th century thinkers and writers to read their correspondences with their friends and families, bankers, booksellers, patrons and publishers.
A collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies.
Coverage: 1982 - present
Covers the history of the world 1450 to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, etc. Indexes 1,800 journals with fulltext of 300 journals.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Includes 3 archives: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature, Women: Transnational Networks. It is an important primary source to study the world history from the late eighteenth century to the early twentieth century.
Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Arts)