Western History & Civilization: E-Book Collections

This is a free internet resource on Architecture. It provides over 136,000 peer-reviewed abstracts of the international literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.

Developed by American Council of Learned Societies, this database comprises e-books chiefly on area and historical studies and other subjects in the humanities.

Coverage: 1946 - 1996
Includes archival materials on Korean War and Vietnam War. It is a primary source to study the Korean and Vietnamese military and civilian leaders and the U.S. strategies in Vietnam.

Coverage: 1256-1993
Archives Unbound based mostly in the United States include topically-focused collections in the politics, military affairs, foreign relations, trade, European missionaries, and other social activities of the countries in Asia-Pacific region from the 19th to the late 20th centuries. There contain many detailed documents on modern Chinese political history and Sino-American relations.

Provides government reports, diplomatic correspondences, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, NGO papers, and more related to international relations between Asian countries and the West during the 19th century.

Coverage: 450 A.D. - 20th century
Provides various versions of Apocrypha, New and Old Testament in different periods. It can be searched by keyword, Book, version, Testament, and period in Old English, Middle English, Renaissance, 18th & 19th or 20th century.

Coverage: 1901 - current
Provides over 4,000 academic e-book titles across humanities, law and social sciences. It contains Bloomsbury's latest research publications as well as archive collections back to 1900s.

Provides selected e-books on Humanities, International Law and Biology.

Coverage: 1996 - present
E-book collection of titles on classical studies from Brill publishers.

Coverage: 18th-19th century
Provides a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. Curated by experts in British arts history,to provides a detailed look at the state of the British art world with, not only manuscripts and compositions, but also documents such as personal letters, annotated programs, meeting minutes, and financial records.

A wealth of historical reference materials, thousands of original documents of the National Archives (UK) represented in facsimile, including numerous maps, on the national heritage and political development of many countries.

Collections include: Annual reports of the Straits Settlements, 1855-1941; China political reports, 1911-1960; China political reports, 1961-1970; Hong Kong annual administration reports, 1841-1941; Japan political & economic reports, 1906-1970; Korea political & economic reports, 1882-1970; Shanghai : political and economic reports, 1842-1943; and Taiwan political and economic reports, 1861-1960.

Cambridge Core is a new platform which combines Cambridge Books Online and Cambridge Journals Online. It offers full-text access to over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals as well as ebooks on various subjects published by the Cambridge University Press.

The Textbook platform offers textbooks covers many subjects across Science, Engineering, Mathematics, Medicine and Nursing, the Humanities, and the Social Sciences.

Coverage: 1920-2008
It contains the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House - founded in 1920 following the Paris Peace Conference). Includes published and unpublished sources, including journals, speeches, pamphlets, reports, and books.

Coverage: 1756 -1912
Includes manuscripts, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps that document the trading and cultural exchanges between China, America and the Pacific between the 18th and early 20th centuries.

Coverage: 1841-1951
Presents the British government documents on colonial Hong Kong which digitized from the British Colonial Office records grouped under the CO 129 Series. The collection contains information on the political, military, social, economic, and external development of Hong Kong. Each volume comes with a contents list, or a précis of each letter giving the name of correspondent, date of letter and subject matter.

Coverage: 1815-1881
Sourced from British Foreign Office Files at the UK National Archives, Part 1 of Imperial China and the West provides General Correspondence relating to China from 1815–1881. These primary materials document the history of China and its foreign relations with Korea, Japan and Great Britain in the nineteenth century.

This database containes source materials on the work of Church Missionary Society, founded in 1799 as an Anglican evangelical movement and still active today.It includes records of both the CMS and the many other missionary societies which have become associated or amalgamated with it over its lifetime. Highlights include Central records of the CMS and papers of key individuals associated with it; Records of the the Loochoo Naval Mission (1843-1864), the first recorded Anglican and Protestant mission in Japan; Archive of the Society for Promoting Female Education in China, India and the East and Records of the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society.

Coverage: 1945 - 1991
Contains 2,360 declassified documents concerning U.S. intelligence operations against the Soviet Union during the Cold War (1945-1991).

Coverage: 1790 - 1920
Includes raw data about crime, punishment and popular repsonse to justice in the nineteenth century. It is an important source to study modern history of crime and legal system.

Coverage: 1599-1947
This database is a collection of India Office Records from the British Library. It contains royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947.

Coverage: 1450 - 1910
Provides access to thematic essays on women conduct and politeness, domesticity and the family, consumption and leisure, education and sensibility, and the body. Essays are linked to documenatry sources.

De Gruyter Online includes information on more than 60,000 books, journals, and electronic products, as well as millions of entries from electronic journals, eBooks and databases.

This is a free resources offered by the Princeton University, an open-access site that delivers the extensive written legacy of Albert Einstein to the public - some 80,000 documents, to be exact, which the New York Times once called them the "Dead Sea Scrolls of physics".

Provides 40,000 eBooks on Arts, Business, Engineering, Medicine, Sciences, and Social Sciences.

Contains a searchable collection of over 45,000 electronic books in a wide range of subject areas.

Coverage: 1701 - 1800
Monograph collection of treatises on the development of law in the British Empire.

Coverage: 1600 - 1909
Provides the documents of the 17th to 20th century thinkers and writers to read their correspondences with their friends and families, bankers, booksellers, patrons and publishers.

A collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies.

Coverage: 1847 - 1911
The correspondence records of the Board of Foreign Mission provide invaluable information on social conditions in the respective country and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century. Documenting the church’s educational, evangelical, and medical work, these are records mainly of correspondence from the mission field and the Board headquarters.

Coverage: 1600 - 2010
Provides an integrated search platform for the following Library subscribed Gale databases: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, The Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2010), The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law (1600-1926), The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises (1800-1926), The Sunday Times Digital Archive (1822-2006), The Times Digital Archive (1785-2009) and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (1902-2010).

Coverage: 16th - 19th Century
Provides 16th to 19th centuries materials on garden design. Over 170 titles covering subjects on gardening, horticulture and garden design, and treating the technological aspects, ornaments, buildings and plant use. Many titles deals with important 17th, 18th and 19th gardens in Europe.

Coverage: 1801-1900
UK House of Commons Parliamentary papers 1801-1900.

Coverage: 1500 - 2000
It is invaluable for an understanding of the competition for empire and the projection of European power from 1500 to the early twentieth century. Explore the historical underpinnings integral to the study of economics and European imperialism.

Sourced from the British Library, American Antiquarian Society, and the Bryn Mawr College Library, this collection contains an array of historic atlases, gazetteers, travel narratives and a variety of maps into the age of cartography and the rise of leisure travel.

Coverage: 1800 - 1924
Showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Includes letter collections, travel journals, diaries, oral histories, scrapbooks, government papers, hand-drawn maps, watercolours, objects, emigration pamphlets, shipping papers and rare printed material.

Coverage: 19th-20th century
Provide missionary collections of 19th and 20th centuries which are global in scope, covering different churches and denominations in Africa, East and South Asia, Australasia and the Pacific, and the Americas.
Primary sources including organizational records, personal papers, correspondence, journals, travel writing and diaries, photographs, ephemera, artefacts, periodicals, and pamphlets can be accessed via this platform.

Coverage: 1479-2003
Includes 3 archives: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature, Women: Transnational Networks. It is an important primary source to study the world history from the late eighteenth century to the early twentieth century.

Coverage: 1945 - 1996
Includes archival materials on the world arms race during the Cold War after World War II. It is a primary source to study the development of mass destruction weapons, and its impacts on regional reactions as well as international relations and non-proliferation treaties.

The database offers a detailed history on the evolution of western classical music by the renowned musicologist Richard Taruskin. It is the full text online version of Taruskin's works of five print volumes. The database includes 1.25 million words, 500 images and 1,800 musical examples. It also provides selected links to the relevant articles in Grove Music Online.

Coverage: 1722 - 1951
This database provides miscellaneous papers and reports from the British legation and consulates in China. The digitized archives contain the catalogue of embassy archives from 1727 to 1859; trade and intelligence reports; records of legal proceedings; miscellaneous papers of the Chinese Secretary's Office; an entry book of papers relating to the East India Company in China; claims arising from Sino-Japanese hostilities, 1927 to 1940; accounts; circulars, etc.

Coverage: 1910 - 1929
Access via Archives Unbound, this database includes documents and correspondences chiefly between the diplomats and other officials of China and the United States from 1910 to 1929.

Coverage: 1950 - 1975
Contains articles, scanned images of printed materials, audio and visual clips about British and American popular culture in 1950-1975, with artifacts on protests, TV, music, civil rights and much more.

Coverage: 19th century
Includes collections in English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, and Spanish. Topics in this database which not just study in positivism and anti-positivism, but also include freethinking, the cooperative movement and alternative Christianities, etc. Through crucial documentary materials such as manuscripts, monographs, periodicals, and photographs, researchers can explore religious and philosophical movements in the nineteenth century.

Coverage: 1907-1910
Contains reports by the U.S. Immigration Commission on the large waves of immigration to America in the early 20th century and the effects on their country with details of immigrant nationalities included.

Coverage : 1780-1925
Includes journals and monographs in the development of science from 1780-1925. Major topics include electricity and physics, the Darwinian Revolution and global reception of evolution, civil engineering, medicine and mathematics.

Coverage : 1780-1925
Includes journals and monographs in the development of science from 1780-1925. Major collections include Natural History, the Rise of Public Health in England and Wales, Academies of Science Publications.

Coverage: 1936 - present
Collection of the Stair Society Main (Annual) Series, the Stair Society Supplementary Series and other works on Scottish legal history.

Coverage: 8th Century B.C. - 1453
Contains Greek literature from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD1453.

Includes the accounts narrated or written by hundreds of women who travelled across the globe from the early 19th century to late 20th century. They make a unique source to study women and world history in the past two centuries.

Coverage: 1900-2008
It provides full-text declassified documents from U.S. government agencies, including the CIA, FBI, White House, State Department, and others. Document types include: correspondence, memoranda, minutes of cabinet meetings, technical studies, national security policy statements, and intelligence estimates

This document set sheds light on the U.S. intelligence community’s spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world from the end of World War II to 2009.

Coverage: 1946 - present
Treaties, international agreements including League of Nations Treaty Series.

It focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century, including a wide array of primary source documents serials, books, manuscripts, diaries, reports, and visuals materials.

Coverage: 1820-1980
Includes documents on women suffrage in Britain 1903-1928 and colonial territories 1930-1962, and other women studies resources in the National Archives.