Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Making of the Modern World
Coverage: 1500 - 2000
It is invaluable for an understanding of the competition for empire and the projection of European power from 1500 to the early twentieth century. Explore the historical underpinnings integral to the study of economics and European imperialism.
Migration to New Worlds
Coverage: 1800 - 1924
Showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Includes letter collections, travel journals, diaries, oral histories, scrapbooks, government papers, hand-drawn maps, watercolours, objects, emigration pamphlets, shipping papers and rare printed material.
Coverage: 19th-20th century
Provide missionary collections of 19th and 20th centuries which are global in scope, covering different churches and denominations in Africa, East and South Asia, Australasia and the Pacific, and the Americas.
Primary sources including organizational records, personal papers, correspondence, journals, travel writing and diaries, photographs, ephemera, artefacts, periodicals, and pamphlets can be accessed via this platform.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)
Includes 3 archives: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature, Women: Transnational Networks. It is an important primary source to study the world history from the late eighteenth century to the early twentieth century.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : Rock and Roll, Counter Culture, Peace and Protest
Coverage: 1950 - 1975
Contains articles, scanned images of printed materials, audio and visual clips about British and American popular culture in 1950-1975, with artifacts on protests, TV, music, civil rights and much more.
Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform
Coverage: 19th century
Includes collections in English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, and Spanish. Topics in this database which not just study in positivism and anti-positivism, but also include freethinking, the cooperative movement and alternative Christianities, etc. Through crucial documentary materials such as manuscripts, monographs, periodicals, and photographs, researchers can explore religious and philosophical movements in the nineteenth century.
Socialism On Film : the Cold War and International Propaganda
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Arts)