Western History & Civilization: Article Databases

This collection provides researchers with six rare English-language journals, five of which were founded by Western missionaries in the Far East in the 19th century, covering a wide range of topics such as East-West communication, Christianity in China and other parts of Asia, and China's political, economic, and cultural landscape.

This database contains 2.1 million pages of periodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900. It includes publications on all aspects of the 19th century life--literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, the professions.
19th Century UK Periodicals provides full-text, fully searchable access to hundreds of magazines and journals with full color, high quality digital facsimiles of all articles. This is an invaluable resource for the study of British life in the 19th century. Few of the materials in this extensive online collection have ever been reissued in any format since original publication. This database currently provides a wide range of subject content consisting of "Part I: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humour and Leisure/Sport" and "Part II: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary & Colonial". Title lists are available on the Gale site.

Coverage: 1975 - present
A multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals.

Coverage: 1946 - 1996
Includes archival materials on Korean War and Vietnam War. It is a primary source to study the Korean and Vietnamese military and civilian leaders and the U.S. strategies in Vietnam.

Coverage: 1256-1993
Archives Unbound based mostly in the United States include topically-focused collections in the politics, military affairs, foreign relations, trade, European missionaries, and other social activities of the countries in Asia-Pacific region from the 19th to the late 20th centuries. There contain many detailed documents on modern Chinese political history and Sino-American relations.

Coverage: 1975 - present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities from over 1,100 leading journals. Also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Includes all cited references captured from indexed articles and supports cited reference search.

Includes interdisciplinary studies in arts and humanities. It covers the subjects of art, design, archaeology, anthropology, classical studies, architecture, history, philosophy, geography, modern languages, literature, cultural studies, and music.

Provides selected e-books on Humanities, International Law and Biology.

Cambridge Core is a new platform which combines Cambridge Books Online and Cambridge Journals Online. It offers full-text access to over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals as well as ebooks on various subjects published by the Cambridge University Press.

Coverage: 1920-2008
It contains the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House - founded in 1920 following the Paris Peace Conference). Includes published and unpublished sources, including journals, speeches, pamphlets, reports, and books.

Coverage: 1815-1881
Sourced from British Foreign Office Files at the UK National Archives, Part 1 of Imperial China and the West provides General Correspondence relating to China from 1815–1881. These primary materials document the history of China and its foreign relations with Korea, Japan and Great Britain in the nineteenth century.

Coverage: 1945 - 1991
Contains 2,360 declassified documents concerning U.S. intelligence operations against the Soviet Union during the Cold War (1945-1991).

De Gruyter Online includes information on more than 60,000 books, journals, and electronic products, as well as millions of entries from electronic journals, eBooks and databases.

A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2015.

Produced by Human Relations Area Files, Yale University. Its information is organized into cultures/traditions, and ethnic groups for cross-cultural and archaeological studies. It can be searched by culture and country/region or subject/word.

Produced by Human Relations Area Files, Yale University. Its information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups for cross-cultural studies. It can be searched by culture and country/region or subject/word.

Coverage: 1600 - 1909
Provides the documents of the 17th to 20th century thinkers and writers to read their correspondences with their friends and families, bankers, booksellers, patrons and publishers.

A collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies.

Coverage: 1850-1947
Messenger 1850-1947 使信月刊 documented the foreign missions of the Presbyterian Church in South China, Taiwan and Chinese communities in Singapore and Malaysia. It has changed title several times, i.e. The English Presbyterian Church (1845-1867), Messenger and Missionary Record of the Presbyterian Church in England (1868-1878), Outlook (1881-1884), Presbyterian (1884-1885), Presbyterian Messenger (1885-1891), Presbyterian (1891-1906), Monthly Messenger of the Presbyterian Church in England (1906-1907), and Presbyter Messenger (1908-1947).

The Dutch East Indies experienced the replacement of company rule by Dutch government rule and the complete transformation of Java into a colonial society and the successful extension of colonial rule to Sumatra and the eastern archipelago during the early 20th century. The boundaries of the modern state of Indonesia were defined during this time and the process of generally exploitative political, military, and economic integration began. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Dutch colonial government and the activities of the native peoples.

German Colonial aspirations in Asia and the Pacific ended with the start of the First World War. Japanese Army forces seized German leased territories in China and the Japanese naval forces occupied the German Pacific colonies. The Treaty of Versailles legitimized Japan's aggression and the territories were officially mandated to the Japanese government. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the German colonial governments and later the Japanese mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples.

Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest covers exploration, military and missionary activities, and economic and political imperialism in the ninetenth century. Documents are sourced from The National Archives, Kew; the U.S. National Archives; the Library of Congress; the National Library of Scotland; and Bodleian Library, University of Oxford.

Coverage: 1732 - 2011
Provides the following historical national and regional newspaper and periodical archive collections subscribed by the CUHK Library: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals: Empire, 19th Century UK Periodicals: New Readerships, British Library Newspapers, Part I: 1800-1900, British Library Newspapers, Part II: 1800-1900, British Library Newspapers, Part III: 1741-1950, British Library Newspapers, Part IV: 1732-1950, British Library Newspapers, Part V: 1746-1950, Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004, Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2011, Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010, Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003, Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992, Sunday Times Digital Archive, Times Digital Archive and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.

Coverage: 1982 - present
Covers the history of the world 1450 to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, etc. Indexes 1,800 journals with fulltext of 300 journals.

Coverage: 1801-1900
UK House of Commons Parliamentary papers 1801-1900.

Coverage: index 1984 - ; full-text 1995-present
Indexes feature articles, original works and reviews on archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary & social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.

Coverage: 1957 - 1995
Contains socioeconomic, political, environmental, scientific, technical and military materials from around the world, with emphasis on the issues and events of socialist countries in the latter half of the twentieth century.

Includes archives of several hundred well-known academic journals across the humanities, social sciences and sciences, dating back to their first issues. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available.

Coverage: 1500 - 2000
It is invaluable for an understanding of the competition for empire and the projection of European power from 1500 to the early twentieth century. Explore the historical underpinnings integral to the study of economics and European imperialism.

Local and international news on Middle East and North Africa collected for the United States's Central Intelligence Agency, the database covers topics of Israeli-Arab conflict, human and civil rights, international relations, terrorism and other issues of regional political, economic and security interests.

Coverage: 19th-20th century
Provide missionary collections of 19th and 20th centuries which are global in scope, covering different churches and denominations in Africa, East and South Asia, Australasia and the Pacific, and the Americas.
Primary sources including organizational records, personal papers, correspondence, journals, travel writing and diaries, photographs, ephemera, artefacts, periodicals, and pamphlets can be accessed via this platform.

Coverage: 1945 - 1996
Includes archival materials on the world arms race during the Cold War after World War II. It is a primary source to study the development of mass destruction weapons, and its impacts on regional reactions as well as international relations and non-proliferation treaties.

Provides access to 400 humanities and social sciences journals.

From 1841 to 1992 Punch was the world's most celebrated magazine of humour and satire. From its early years as a campaigner for social justice to its transformation into national icon, Punch played a central role in the formation of British identity - and how the rest of the world saw the British. The Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992 includes the complete run of the weekly magazine, as well as its annual Almanack, seasonal issues, and indexes. The archive also correlates the previously anonymous articles and those written under pseudonyms with the private ledgers of contributors kept by the Punch editors, in many cases revealing for the first time the true identity of the authors.

Coverage: 1930 - 1960
Sourced from British Foreign Office Files at the UK National Archives, British Library, National Archives and Records Administration (US) and World Jewish Relief. It archives the refugees across Asia, Europe and North America from 1933 to 1960. Researchers can locate Jewish from China, immigration of Jewish to Hong Kong, transfer of Jewish refugees from Austria to Germany, and subjects of a rich variety.

Coverage: 19th century
Includes collections in English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, and Spanish. Topics in this database which not just study in positivism and anti-positivism, but also include freethinking, the cooperative movement and alternative Christianities, etc. Through crucial documentary materials such as manuscripts, monographs, periodicals, and photographs, researchers can explore religious and philosophical movements in the nineteenth century.

Coverage : 1780-1925
Includes journals and monographs in the development of science from 1780-1925. Major topics include electricity and physics, the Darwinian Revolution and global reception of evolution, civil engineering, medicine and mathematics.

Coverage : 1780-1925
Includes journals and monographs in the development of science from 1780-1925. Major collections include Natural History, the Rise of Public Health in England and Wales, Academies of Science Publications.

Coverage: 1936 - present
Collection of the Stair Society Main (Annual) Series, the Stair Society Supplementary Series and other works on Scottish legal history.

This document set sheds light on the U.S. intelligence community’s spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world from the end of World War II to 2009.

The UNESCO Digital Library is the repository of UNESCO’s institutional memory and a source of high-quality information on UNESCO activities (in education, natural sciences, social and human sciences, culture, and communication and information), with more than 350,000 documents dating back to 1945. It includes the collections of the UNESCO Library and several documentation centres in UNESCO’s Field Offices and Institutes, as well as the UNESCO Archives. The essential purpose of the UNESCO Digital Library is to share knowledge and to transmit it to future generations.

Much of history is one-sided, focusing mainly on the male perspective and leaving women's voices unheard. Bringing women’s stories to light, the Women’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals. By providing the opportunity to witness female perspectives, Gale’s Women’s Studies Archive is an essential source for researchers working in Women’s History, Gender Studies and Social History.