Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a guide to some of the most important electronic resources in the field of Life Sciences. Email or phone the subject specialist for more information and assistance.
Citing References - ACS
ACS Style Guide
A good resource how to communicate scientific information. Also includes examples how to cite in ACS style.
RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to import citations from databases, produce bibliographies in a variety of citation styles (e.g. MLA, APA, Chicago, etc), format in-text references or footnotes, and create personal databases of citations.
CUHK Examination Papers Database
Coverage: 1995 - present
Includes the examination papers of the centralized undergraduate courses of the Chinese University of Hong Kong from 1995 onwards. This database has been merged into the LibrarySearch. It is also searchable under the “Exam Papers” tab on the CUHK Library website.
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science
Coverage: 1990 - present
Indexes conference literature in all fields of sciences & engineering. Includes all cited references captured from indexed articles and supports cited reference search.
Social Sciences Citation Index at Web of Science
Coverage: 1956 - present
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Includes all cited references captured from indexed articles and supports cited reference search.
JoVE Science Education
The Journal of Visualized Experiments (or JoVE): Science Education collection has filmed and made available hundreds of medical and scientific laboratory experiments for study by other researchers, covering General Laboratory Techniques, Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology.
JoVE Science Education: Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology
Containa video demonstration on how to execute essential techniques commonly used in cellular and molecular biology. Such as using a Hemacytometer to Count Cells, the ELISA Method, Gel Purification, and so on.
Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Engineering & Faculty of Science)