LibGuides: Online Guide for Law Students: References

Legal Encyclopedia

A legal encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference work that outlines the fundamental principles and concepts in every area of law. It serves as a valuable starting point for researchers who are exploring an unfamiliar legal area and need a solid foundation of knowledge to build upon.

Halsbury’s Laws of Hong Kong
Other Encyclopedias

Halsbury's Laws of Hong Kong is a comprehensive legal encyclopedia that provides a detailed and authoritative overview of the law in Hong Kong. It covers a wide range of legal topics, including constitutional law, criminal law, commercial law, etc. The encyclopedia is updated regularly to reflect changes in the law and legal practice in Hong Kong, ensuring that users have access to the most current and accurate information.

Here are the steps to access Halsbury's Laws of Hong Kong:

Visit and log in to Lexis+ Hong Kong.
Search Halsbury's Laws of Hong Kong in the search box, or click on Halsbury's Laws of Hong Kong under Publications.

Guide to Hong Kong taxation matter:
- Encyclopaedia of Hong Kong Taxation: Stamp Duty (Volume 1)
- Encyclopaedia of Hong Kong Taxation: Taxation of Income (Volume 3, 4 & 5)
Guide to criminal law and procedure:
Archbold Hong Kong 2023
Guide to civil procedure:
Hong Kong Civil Procedure (Hong Kong White Book) 2023
Legal encyclopedias for forms:
Atkins Court Forms Hong Kong
The Encyclopedia of Forms and Precedents

Legal Dictionaries

A legal dictionary provides definitions and explanations of legal terms and concepts, which can be particularly useful for individuals who are new to the legal field, as well as for those who need to quickly and accurately understand the meaning of legal terminology.

Hong Kong Bilingual Legal Dictionary
Other Legal Dictionaries

The Hong Kong Bilingual Legal Dictionary provides bilingual definitions of legal terms and concepts in both English and Chinese, covering a wide range of legal topics. The dictionary is regularly updated to reflect changes in the law and legal practice in Hong Kong.

Here are the steps to access Hong Kong Bilingual Legal Dictionary:

Visit and log in to Lexis+ Hong Kong.
Search Hong Kong Bilingual Legal Dictionary in the search box, or click on Hong Kong Bilingual Legal Dictionary under Publications.

Other Reference Resources

In addition to legal encyclopedias and dictionaries, there are many other reference resources that can be useful for legal researchers. Below are lists of some legal reference resources that you may find helpful in your legal research.