Online Guide for Law Students: Articles

Searching journal articles on Lexis Advance: 

Use the Search Box: 

1. Log in to Lexis Advance® Hong Kong from the Library Homepage.
2. Enter your keyword(s), such as "professional negligence".
3. Click on Search: Everything >.
4. Limit the result to HK Secondary Materials. You can filter the jurisdiction in Step 6.
5. Click on Search.
   
    
6. You can limit the result to a specific jurisdiction here.
7. Limit the result to Journals.
8. Click on the article title to read and download the full text.
   

Via Quick Find 

1. Log in to Lexis Advance® Hong Kong from the Library Homepage.
2. Click on Secondary Materials in Quick Find.
3. Input your keyword(s), such as "professional negligence" in Terms to search the full text.
4. Choose whether to search within HK Secondary Materials or Internation Snapshot View.
5. Filter the jurisdiction.
6. Limit the content type to journals.
7. Click on the article title to read and download the full text.
   

Video Tutorial

Browsing journal articles from the sidebar: 

1. Log in to Westlaw Asia from the Library Homepage.  It is optional to input a client Identifier.  You may skip it and click on Continue to proceed.
   (You may refer to this video tutorial on how to make the best use of the Client Identifier.)
2. Click on the Journals tab in the sidebar to start browsing.
3. Select journals from different countries or regions, such as Hong Kong Journals.
4. Choose a journal title, such as Hong Kong Law Journal.
5. Browse the journal by Year. You can then download the journal by Article Title or by Issue in PDF format.
   

*Notes: You can also make use the search boxes above to search journal articles while browsing.

Searching Journal Articles from the homepage: 

1. Log in to Westlaw Asia from the Library Homepage. It is optional to input a client Identifier.  You may skip it and click on Continue to proceed.
   (You may refer to this video tutorial on how to make the best use of the Client Identifier.)
2. Enter your search term in the search bar. You can check the Boolean terms and connectors in Westlaw Asia by clicking the information icon or visiting this page. For example, the search term "common law" /s evolution OR development asks Westlaw Asia to return results containing the phrase "common law" with either "evolution" or "development" in the same sentence.
3. Select Journals from the drop-down menu.
4. Check the boxes for the country/countries you would like to search, such as Hong Kong and United Kingdom.
5. Click on the Search button.
   
    
6. Sort the results by Publication or by Relevance on the result page.
7. Narrow down your search by using the Search within search box, if needed.
8. Click on the Full Text Article link to read the article.
   

Westlaw Classic is a legal research platform that can help you locate legal resources in the United States and other jurisdictions. To find journal articles on Westlaw Classic, we recommend starting with the Secondary Sources or International Materials options under the Browse > All Content area. 

1. Log in to Westlaw Classic from the Library Homepage.  You may input anything, say your first name, for the Client ID.
2. Navigate to either Secondary Sources or International Materials.
   
    
3. Enter your search term here. You can check the Boolean terms and connectors by visiting this page. For instance, the search term "alternative dispute resolution" OR mediation OR ADR /p "medical malpractice" OR "medical error" asks Westlaw Classic to return results containing the phrase "alternative dispute resolution" or mediation or ADR with either "medical malpractice" or "medical error" in the same paragraph.
4. Filter the results to Journals only (or Law Reviews and Journals if you selected Secondary Sources in step 2). 
5. You can narrow down your search by using the Search within results box, if needed.
6. Finally, Click on the article title to read the full text.
   

Add Findit@CUHK Library in your Google Scholar

Do you find that publishers sometimes require payment before allowing access to articles found on Google Scholar?

With Findit@CUHK Library, you can download the full text of articles that we have subscriptions to, regardless of whether you are using Google Scholar on or off campus. Setting up this feature is easy and only requires a few simple steps:

1. Click on the menu icon in the top-left corner of Google Scholar.
2. Click on Settings.
3. Choose Library links.
4. Search for 'Chinese University of Hong Kong', and check the box for The Chinese University of Hong Kong Library - Findit@CUHK Library.
5. Save your setting.

You can then see Findit@CUHK Library in the search result page even when using Google Scholar off campus.  It will direct you to our library's record for you to download the articles that we have subscribed to.

Unable to find the full text of a particular publication from our collection?

Don't worry, our Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Services (ILL) can help you obtain the materials you need for your research and private study from libraries across the globe. Learn how to make an ILL request from the step-by-step instructions in our User Guide.