Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to use LibrarySearch: Simple Search

Start your Search

You can begin your search in LibrarySearch easily by typing keyword(s) in the search bar on the Library homepage or directly on the LibrarySearch page.

If you are looking for a specific type of resource, or materials from a specific collection, you may also make use of the tabs for easy searching:

 LibrarySearch One-stop searching for CUHK library resources
 Databases Find databases by title, subject, type, or by an alphabetical list of databases
 Journals Find both print & electronic journals by title, ISSN or category
 ReadingList / Course Reserves Find instructor's reserved course materials
 Exam Papers Find CUHK Undergraduate Examination past papers from 1995. (does NOT provide answers)
 Theses & Dissertations Find CUHK master theses and PhD dissertations
 Special Collections Find items in the CUHK Special Collections and the Repositories

Simple Search

Simple Search is a basic keyword search that searches for all terms entered in the single search field. It works well when you are:

  • searching for a broad topic / a specific author / title
  • finding information on a single topic

You can use the drop-down menu on the right of the search box to limit your search scope. You can also use different operators to broaden or narrow your search results.

The drop-down menu serves as a limiter to the search scope:

All Search for all types of materials listed below. 
Books Search for library acquired books, ebooks and more.
Articles Find journal articles, newspapers articles, theses, conference proceedings and more. 
Audio-visual Find audio-visual and multimedia materials.
Periodicals Search for the title of periodicals.
CUHK Theses Search for CUHK Master theses and PhD dissertations.
Special Collections Find items in the CUHK Special Collections and the Repositories.
USC Collection Find items in the Universities Service Centre For China Studies Collection (USC).

"How to" Videos

How to Find Books

This video shows you how to find print books on the CUHK Library website. (1:19)

 

How to Find eBooks

This video shows you how to find eBooks on the CUHK Library website. (1:21)

 

How to Find Articles

This video is a get-started guide to search journal articles on the CUHK Library website. (1:00)

 

How to Find Undergraduate Examination Papers

How to Find CUHK undergraduate Examination Papers

Watch this video to know how to find CUHK examination papers of the undergraduate courses. (1:10)