English Language and Literature: E-Book Collections

Developed by American Council of Learned Societies, this database comprises e-books chiefly on area and historical studies and other subjects in the humanities.

A comprehensive, cross-searchable package of collections covering literatures of place, race, and gender. It features 14 collections and offers over 250,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, and novels, along with more than 5,000 full-text plays and film scripts.

Coverage: 1903 - present
Contains 1009 scripts including published and unpublished screenplays by 1062 writers. These written works allow users to study the structure, character development, plot and scene of the films according to various research topics and times.

Coverage: 1901 - current
Provides over 4,000 academic e-book titles across humanities, law and social sciences. It contains Bloomsbury's latest research publications as well as archive collections back to 1900s.

Coverage: 18th-19th century
Provides a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. Curated by experts in British arts history,to provides a detailed look at the state of the British art world with, not only manuscripts and compositions, but also documents such as personal letters, annotated programs, meeting minutes, and financial records.

Cambridge Core is a new platform which combines Cambridge Books Online and Cambridge Journals Online. It offers full-text access to over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals as well as ebooks on various subjects published by the Cambridge University Press.

Professor David Hawkes (霍克思, 1923–2009) was a renowned British Sinologist, much celebrated for his scholarship and creative ingenuity, and most well regarded for his masterful translations of Chinese literature.
Hawkes studied Chinese at University of Oxford (1945–1947) and was a research student at the then National Peking University (1948–1951). He left China and returned to Oxford in 1951 where he completed his doctoral dissertation on The Songs of the South. He was appointed Professor of Chinese at Oxford in 1959. From 1973 to 1983, he was a Research Fellow of All Souls College, Oxford, and later became an Emeritus Fellow. In 1983, he donated his personal library, The David Hawkes Collection which comprises about 4,500 volumes with works in Chinese, Japanese and English, including Chinese language and literature, history, philosophy, religion and drama, to the National Library of Wales.
Hawkes translated the poetry anthology, The Songs of the South, while he was still a young man, and the work was published by Oxford University Press in 1959, and later revised by the translator himself for the Penguin Classics edition, published in 1985. His A Little Primer of Tu Fu, first published in 1967 by Oxford University Press and later in 1987 by Renditions, the Research Centre for Translation, is an authoritative study and translation of the best-known works of the great Tang poet. However, there is no doubt that Hawkes’s most significant achievement as a translator is the The Story of the Stone, a work to which he fully devoted himself, even resigning from the post of Professor of Chinese in Oxford in 1971 to focus on the project. The first 80 chapters of The Story of the Stone was published in three volumes in 1973, 1977 and 1980 respectively. His translations not only demonstrate the highest standard of scholarship but also the highest standard for the art of translation, and will provide inspirations for generations of literary translators to ponder and reflect upon.

The Textbook platform offers textbooks covers many subjects across Science, Engineering, Mathematics, Medicine and Nursing, the Humanities, and the Social Sciences.

Provides 40,000 eBooks on Arts, Business, Engineering, Medicine, Sciences, and Social Sciences.

Contains a searchable collection of over 45,000 electronic books in a wide range of subject areas.

Coverage: 1591 - 1911
Contains various editions of Shakespear's works published during 1591 to 1911. It can be searched by keyword, edition, genre, play/poem title, author, speaker, or publication date.

Coverage: 701 - 1947
Contains the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th century by 1,250 poets. It can searched by keyword in poem, first line/title and poet.

The collection includes the full-text of more than 9,500 English, French and German titles. The collection is sourced from the library of Victor Amadeus, whose Castle Corvey collection was one of the most spectacular discoveries of the late 1970s. The Corvey Collection comprises one of the most important archives of Romantic era writing in existence anywhere--including fiction, short prose, dramatic works, poetry and more--with a focus on especially difficult-to-find works by lesser-known, historically neglected writers.

The poets presented, originally from Hong Kong or elsewhere, have either taught or studied at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. The university is located in Shatin, which means literally Fields of Sand in Chinese.
The poems read are chosen by the poets themselves. The images in the videos are mostly of Hong Kong in 2016, one year before the 20th anniversary of Hong Kong’s handover to China.
The recording hopes to preserve certain poetic voices of Hong Kong while promoting an appreciation of poetry. Written in the English language, most of the poems memorialise and celebrate the local scene, while the local context, including the Chinese written script and the Cantonese tongue, infuses into the poetic imagination and language. This confluence of cultural forces energises and connects different worlds, diverse grains of sand.

Contains e-books in linguistics, literature and literary studies, philosophy, translations and interpreting studies, communication studies and psychology.

Access spoken word of 1,300 audiobooks for classic novels, plays and poetry, from medieval times to the twentieth century. Includes 21 categories, from children's classic, classic fiction, to Shakespeare's plays, music education, etc.

Project MUSE provides access to UPCC (University Press Conent Consortium) Books with thousands of peer-reviewed digital books from over 65 major university presses and scholarly publishers.

Documents of the notebooks, verse manuscripts, pieces of fine art, and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow Romatic poets in the 18th and 19th centuries. This collection allows users to study English literature, landscape painting, visual preception in literature and British society in the Romanitc period.

Coverage: 1948 - present
A yearbook for annual survey of Shakespearian study and production.