Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide introduces selected sources on English Language and Literature available in the CUHK Library and on the Internet. For assistance, please send your questions via Live Chat or contact the relevant faculty liaison librarian.
Alexander Street Literature
A comprehensive, cross-searchable package of collections covering literatures of place, race, and gender. It features 14 collections and offers over 250,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, and novels, along with more than 5,000 full-text plays and film scripts.
British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
Coverage: 18th-19th century
Provides a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. Curated by experts in British arts history,to provides a detailed look at the state of the British art world with, not only manuscripts and compositions, but also documents such as personal letters, annotated programs, meeting minutes, and financial records.
An integrated database to search across resources of Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors, Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Gale Literature: LitFinder, and Gale Literature: Something About the Author.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Coverage: 1973 - present
Offers abstracts of the literature in linguistics and language-related research, book abstracts, and the bibliographic citations of relevant dissertations.
Important Academic Journals
Library Good Reads
Stop by the Good Reads Corner (G/F, University Library) to check out your favorites!
Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Arts)