Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image / Sound Databases
Filmakers Library Online
The collection includes documentaries that are already heavily used in humanities and social science classrooms. Topical coverage is contemporary and relevant across the curriculum--race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. The titles in Filmakers Library Online present points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
A Grain of Sand : Poems from Hong Kong = 詩緒沙田 : 香港英詩選讀
The poets presented, originally from Hong Kong or elsewhere, have either taught or studied at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. The university is located in Shatin, which means literally Fields of Sand in Chinese.
The poems read are chosen by the poets themselves. The images in the videos are mostly of Hong Kong in 2016, one year before the 20th anniversary of Hong Kong’s handover to China.
The recording hopes to preserve certain poetic voices of Hong Kong while promoting an appreciation of poetry. Written in the English language, most of the poems memorialise and celebrate the local scene, while the local context, including the Chinese written script and the Cantonese tongue, infuses into the poetic imagination and language. This confluence of cultural forces energises and connects different worlds, diverse grains of sand.
LDC-Online offers access to the text and speech corpora of the Linguistic Data Consortium (LDC). LDC Corpus Search includes newstext in Arabic, Chinese and English, and English telephone conversations. American English Spoken Lexicon includes audio files for more than 50,000 words extracted from newswire and telephone conversation. Users can search by alphabetical browsing, orthography or phonetic transcription.
Naxos Spoken Word Library
Access spoken word of 1,300 audiobooks for classic novels, plays and poetry, from medieval times to the twentieth century. Includes 21 categories, from children's classic, classic fiction, to Shakespeare's plays, music education, etc.
Theatre in Video
Coverage: 1930s - 20th century
500+ hours of streaming video of more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries.
Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Arts)