Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
E-Resources@ CUHK Library
Click here to access more electronic resources available at the CUHK Library
Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
Click here for more information of the Off- Campus Access to library's subscribed e-resources
Architecture / Art / Design / Culture / History
(Including image / video resources)
Includes 1.4 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities and science from museums and photo archives. These visual collections facilitate the interdisciplinary approach to teaching and study.
China: Culture and Society
Sources from Wason Pamphlet Collection of Cornell University. It helps to study modern China since foreign presence in the 17th century. Its rich variety of themes includes Chinese diaspora, politics, religion, philosophy, opium, revolution, language and literature, art, education, science and medicine, trade and industry, exploration and travel, transport and communication, etc.
eHRAF World Cultures
Produced by Human Relations Area Files, Yale University. Its information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups for cross-cultural studies. It can be searched by culture and country/region or subject/word.
Grove Art Online
Covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art, and provide links to important art images in galleries and museums around the world.
Historical Garden Design Online : Sources from the 16th to the 19th Centuries
Coverage: 16th - 19th Century
Provides 16th to 19th centuries materials on garden design. Over 170 titles covering subjects on gardening, horticulture and garden design, and treating the technological aspects, ornaments, buildings and plant use. Many titles deals with important 17th, 18th and 19th gardens in Europe.
Hong Kong Architectural Publications Index
Coverage: 1988 - 2010
This is a free internet resource on Architecture. The database, developed by the CUHK Library, provides index to 20 English or Chinese architecture journals published in Hong Kong. Articles can be searched by author, title, abstract and subject.
Masters of Architecture
An ongoing series of colour images from PIDGEON AUDIOVISUAL and WORLD MICROFILMS. Includes the complete Masters of Architecture series and additional slide sets with approx. 7,000 images. Fully searchable.
Theatre in Video
Coverage: 1930s - 20th century
500+ hours of streaming video of more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries.
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History
Includes the accounts narrated or written by hundreds of women who travelled across the globe from the early 19th century to late 20th century. They make a unique source to study women and world history in the past two centuries.