Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a guide to some of the most important electronic resources in the field of Psychiatry. Contact the Faculty Librarian for more information and assistance.
Provides access to more than 40 titles of McGraw-Hill's Clinical Library which includes Harrison's Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment & much more, as well as the renowned LANGE Basic Science and LANGE CURRENT Clinical Science Series.
BMJ Best Practice
Provides decision support through a step-by-step approach that is structured around patient consultation, covering diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention.
Coverage: 1996 - present
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. These databases are: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs)
Coverage: 1910 - present
EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research.
MEDLINE via OvidSP
Coverage: 1946 - present
US National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database of citations and abstracts currently from approximately 5,000 biomedical journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Coverage extends back to 1946 in which OLDMEDLINE records are included.
Coverage: 1871 - present
Provides index and abstracts to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
PsychiatryOnline is a web-based portal that features DSM-5, textbooks, journals, practice guidelines, self-assessment tools and clinical & research news on psychiatry.
Provides full text access to 70 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
PubMed (with full text)
PubMed contains over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, etc. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health. PubMed (with full text) contains links to CUHK’s full-text holdings.
Coverage: 1823 - present
Includes the abstracts and references of 15,000 peer-reviewed journals across different subject disciplines.
UpToDate (On Campus Access Only)
Up-to-date is an evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical resource to assist with diagnosis and treatment by providing specific answers to clinical questions, increasing users’ clinical knowledge and improving patient care. It covers over 8,500 topic reviews in 17 medical specialties written by over 4400 editors, physicians and reviewers. They monitor more than 440 journals and incorporate new studies in the context of what has already been published in that field. These topic reviews include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations. They are fully illustrated and referenced and with links to Medline abstracts and a drug database Lexi-Comp.
Web of Science
Web of Science consists of citation databases in sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Multidisciplinary content covers scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, book series, and more.
APA Style: A reference guide from
the Purdue University.
Citation Reference Tools: