Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a guide to some of the most important electronic resources in the field of Molecular Biology. Contact the Faculty Librarian for more information and assistance.
Books on pre-clinical subjects are mainly housed on the fourth floor of the University Library.
The world’s first clinical insight engine, ClinicalKey offers faster, smarter access to relevant online clinical answers by drawing from the largest collection of peer-reviewed and evidence-based resources, which includes more than 800 medical e-books, 500 top journals, 800 evidence-based medicine monographs, and over 9,000 procedural videos covering major medical and surgical specialties.
Current Protocols in Bioinformatics
Designed specifically for life scientists, the Protocols is good for mastering the vast array of computational tools needed to not only decipher the tremendous amounts of information provided by today’s research techniques, but also to present the results in a meaningful way.
Current Protocols in Cell Biology
The Current Protocols in Cell Biology is a continuously updating essential reference for researchers who study the cell, its internal and external environment, and its relationships to other cells.
Current protocols in Cytometry
Current Protocols in Cytometry is a "best practices" collection that distills and organizes the absolute latest techniques from the top cytometry labs and specialists worldwide.
Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry
Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry is the resource for designing and running successful research projects in the rapidly growing and changing field of nucleic acid, nucleotide, and nucleoside research.
Current Protocols in Stem Cell Biology
Current Protocols in Stem Cell Biology is designed to help researchers realize the potential of stem cells for improving human health. The protocols include basic and emerging technologies for the analysis of stem cells, as well as the processes underlying differentiation and development.
Coverage: 1910 - present
EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research.
Henry Stewart Talks. Biomedical & Life Science Collection
Henry Stewart Talks is a collection of online seminars by leading world experts covering major biomedicine and life sciences topics
JoVE - Journal of Visualized Experiments. Biochemistry
The video articles from JoVE. Biochemistry demonstrate methods to study nucleic acids, proteins, carbohydrates and lipids as well as enzyme function, protein folding, molecular interactions and biochemical reactions.
JoVE - Journal of Visualized Experiments. Genetics
JoVE Genetics includes methods to study gene expression, mutagenesis, epigenetics, genetic determinants of development, genetic disorders, population genetics and evolution.
MEDLINE via OvidSP
Coverage: 1946 - present
US National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database of citations and abstracts currently from approximately 5,000 biomedical journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Coverage extends back to 1946 in which OLDMEDLINE records are included.
Coverage: 1923 - present
Allows users access to nearly all the ProQuest periodical databases and provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of disciplines including business and economics, environmental studies, geography, public administration, social science, political sciences, and more.
PubMed contains over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, etc. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health. PubMed (with full text) contains links to CUHK’s full-text holdings.
Springer Nature Experiments
Springer Nature Experiments is a research solution allowing researchers to quickly find and evaluate protocols and methods in biomedicine and life sciences. This platform covers the content from: Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, Nature Reviews Methods Primers, and Springer Protocols.
Springer Protocols is a database of reproducible laboratory protocols (over 50,000) in biomedicine and life sciences. With an emphasis on comprehensiveness and clarity, each protocol is organized in an easily reproducible recipe style.
Web of Science
Web of Science consists of citation databases in sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Multidisciplinary content covers scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, book series, and more.
APA Style: A reference guide from
the Purdue University.
Citation Reference Tools: