Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Ethnologue : Languages of the World
Database to search the world's living languages by region or language. It is an important encyclopedia and statistics reference to study and analyze the world's spoken languages, language families and indigenous languages of certain areas.
Provides encyclopedias, almanacs and reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Gale In Context: Global Issues
It also contains content from 100 Gale proprietary reference titles, including Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook, Human Geography: People & the Environment, Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Cultures, Middle East Conflict Reference Library, and Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations.
Gale In Context: Science
An online resource that provides contextual information on today's most significant science topics merged with full-text magazine, academic journal, and news articles; experiments, images, videos, audio files, and websites.
An integrated database to search across resources of Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors, Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Gale Literature: LitFinder, and Gale Literature: Something About the Author.
The Handbook of Translation Studies (HTS)
Handbook of Translation Studies is an extensive reference work and offers peer-reviews articles on a large range of topics, traditions, and methods in the research field of translation and interpretation. It aims to disseminate knowledge about translation and interpreting and it will be of interest to a relatively broad audience.
Online English language dictionary for word definitions, meanings and pronunciation.
Oxford English Dictionary
Provides the complete text of the printed version of Oxford English Dictionary, containing obsolete old English words, as well as the broadest possible range of general and specialist vocabulary.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Provides dictionaries on Chinese-English; French-English; German-English; Italian-English; Russian-English; and Spanish-English.
Oxford Reference Online Premium
Contains over 150 dictionaries, language reference, and subject reference works on art, architecture, biological sciences, computing science, business, science, English language, social sciences, general reference and quotations, nutrition, etc .
Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Arts)