It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides government reports, diplomatic correspondences, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, NGO papers, and more related to international relations between Asian countries and the West during the 19th century.
A wealth of historical reference materials, thousands of original documents of the National Archives (UK) represented in facsimile, including numerous maps, on the national heritage and political development of many countries.
Collections include: Annual reports of the Straits Settlements, 1855-1941; China political reports, 1911-1960; China political reports, 1961-1970; Hong Kong annual administration reports, 1841-1941; Japan political & economic reports, 1906-1970; Korea political & economic reports, 1882-1970; Shanghai : political and economic reports, 1842-1943; and Taiwan political and economic reports, 1861-1960.
Coverage: 1756 -1912
Includes manuscripts, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps that document the trading and cultural exchanges between China, America and the Pacific between the 18th and early 20th centuries.
Coverage: 1682 - 1929
Sources from Wason Pamphlet Collection of Cornell University. It helps to study modern China since foreign presence in the 17th century. Its rich variety of themes includes Chinese diaspora, politics, religion, philosophy, opium, revolution, language and literature, art, education, science and medicine, trade and industry, exploration and travel, transport and communication, etc.
A Collection of 17 missionary, sinology and literary periodicals from 1817 to 1949, i.e. Chinese recorder, West China missionary news, China mission / Christian year book, Educational review, Canton miscellany, Chinese miscellany, Chinese and Japanese repository, Notes and queries on China and Japan, China review, New China review, Indo-Chinese gleaner, Bulletin of the Catholic University of Peking, Yenching journal of social studies, China quarterly, T'ien Hsia monthly, China critic, and China year book.
A collection of 17 English-language periodicals published in or about China during a period of over 130 years, extending from 1817 until 1949. This corresponds to the periods of the late Qing Dynasty and the Republican Era (1911-1949). This resource features a significant collection of articles and photos on the founding and development of Christian higher education in China.
Comprises over 4,000 rare China-related historical documents selected from the India Office Records: the Political and Secret Department Records, the Burma Office records, and the Records of the Military Department. These documents consist of manuscripts, memoranda, correspondence, pamphlets, official publications, intelligence diaries, accounts of political and scientific expeditions, travel diaries, handbooks and maps, covering British interests in Asia and Anglo-Chinese relations from 1869-1950.
Presents the British government documents on colonial Hong Kong which digitized from the British Colonial Office records grouped under the CO 129 Series. The collection contains information on the political, military, social, economic, and external development of Hong Kong. Each volume comes with a contents list, or a précis of each letter giving the name of correspondent, date of letter and subject matter.
The Customs' Gazette, published by order of the Inspector General of Customs of China in Shanghai, provided quarterly reports on trade that were prepared and submitted by various custom houses based across the country. This statistical and narrative information provided the central Chinese government with an in-depth analysis on trade. But, the Gazette also provided insights into local and regional economic and social conditions, policing of customs and trade, and conditions at Treaty Ports.
The Maritime Customs Service of China compiled the publications from 1859 to 1949. This collection is sourced from the 2nd Historical Archives of China in Nanjing and incorporates its Statistical Series publication. It is an important source to study China's customs administration, international trade, treaty ports and tax returns from mid-nineteenth to mid-twentieth century.
This database containes source materials on the work of Church Missionary Society, founded in 1799 as an Anglican evangelical movement and still active today.It includes records of both the CMS and the many other missionary societies which have become associated or amalgamated with it over its lifetime. Highlights include Central records of the CMS and papers of key individuals associated with it; Records of the the Loochoo Naval Mission (1843-1864), the first recorded Anglican and Protestant mission in Japan; Archive of the Society for Promoting Female Education in China, India and the East and Records of the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society.
The collection “The Cultural Revolution in Images: Caricature-Posters from Guangzhou 1966-1977” showcases the two hundred and sixteen original posters from the Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) Library. The posters are divided into two groups: Red Guards’ posters dated between 1966-1967; and images produced against the Gang of Four dated between 1976-1977. The aim of this digital collection is to make these valuable visual sources available to the academic community, and to allow scholars to employ them for research and teaching.
Coverage: 1600 - 1947
East India Company offers access to a unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1600 to 1947.
Coverage: 1837 - 1911
The correspondence records of the Board of Foreign Mission provide invaluable information on social conditions in the respective country and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century. Documenting the church’s educational, evangelical, and medical work, these are records mainly of correspondence from the mission field and the Board headquarters.
American sinologist Owen Lattimore had conducted research throughout China from 1938 to 1950. In 1952 he was charged of being espionage to promote Communist interest. This file related to Lattimore's leftist sympathiesis is sourced from Federal Bureau of Investigation Library.
The mission of General George C. Marshall to prevent the renewal of the Chinese civil war and, as a consequence, prevent the growth of Soviet influence in both Manchuria and China proper must be viewed in the context of the emerging Cold War as well as the context of American perceptions of China that go back, at least, to the days of John Hay and the Open Door. This collection comprises the full set of records held by the National Archives in the State Department's Lot File 54 D 270 and is subdivided into six parts: War Department records; Records of the Marshall Mission relating to Political Affairs; Records of the Marshall Mission relating to Military Affairs; Records of the Division of Chinese Affairs; Records of John Carter Vincent; and, Marshall's Report.
This collection provides documentation on Germany's relations with China during the interwar period. Germany was instrumental in modernizing China's industrial base and provided a military training mission and equipment for the armed forces of the Republic of China prior to the Second Sino-Japanese War. The Republic of China, which succeeded the Ming Dynasty in 1912, was fraught with factional warlordism and foreign incursions. The Northern Expedition of 1928 nominally unified China under Kuomintang (KMT) control, yet Imperial Japan loomed as the greatest foreign threat. The Chinese urgency to modernize the military and its national defense industry, coupled with Germany's need for a stable supply of raw materials, put the two countries on the road of close relations from the late 1920s to the late 1930s. Although intense cooperation lasted only from the Nazi takeover of Germany in 1933 to the start of the war with Japan in 1937, and concrete measures at industrial reform started in earnest only in 1936, it had a profound effect on Chinese modernization and the capability of the Chinese to resist the Japanese in the war.
Sourced from the British Library, American Antiquarian Society, and the Bryn Mawr College Library, this collection contains an array of historic atlases, gazetteers, travel narratives and a variety of maps into the age of cartography and the rise of leisure travel.
Coverage: 1800 - 1924
Showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Includes letter collections, travel journals, diaries, oral histories, scrapbooks, government papers, hand-drawn maps, watercolours, objects, emigration pamphlets, shipping papers and rare printed material.
This collection replicates all the minutes of meetings held by the Board of Directors of the Shanghai Municipal Council from July 1854 to December 1943. A wide range of topics were discussed at these board meetings, such as sanitation, transportation, telecommunication and postal service, taxation, urban planning, gas supply, street lighting, rickshaw operator management, animal protection, and police system. The minutes taken from July 1854 to December 1906 are handwritten while the rest are typewritten.
Includes 3 archives: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature, Women: Transnational Networks. It is an important primary source to study the world history from the late eighteenth century to the early twentieth century.
Norman Bethune (1890–1939), a Canadian thoracic surgeon, is a dedicated Communist to help the Red Army in China. Sourced from McGill University, this collection consists of letter correspondences, newspaper and magazine clippings, photographs, pamphlets, and research materials.
Coverage: 1722 - 1951
This database provides miscellaneous papers and reports from the British legation and consulates in China. The digitized archives contain the catalogue of embassy archives from 1727 to 1859; trade and intelligence reports; records of legal proceedings; miscellaneous papers of the Chinese Secretary's Office; an entry book of papers relating to the East India Company in China; claims arising from Sino-Japanese hostilities, 1927 to 1940; accounts; circulars, etc.
These files represent a large portion of the archives of the British-run municipal police force based in Shanghai's former international settlement. This self-governing area was administered not by the Chinese but by the international group of merchants and bankers who paid the taxes and controlled the municipal council. The special branch of the Shanghai Municipal Police was charged with providing an orderly environment for Shanghai's foreign trade and commerce. Carrying out its duties required the timely gathering of information on areas of potential instability that might threaten Shanghai's economic development and political calm. This branch's prime responsibilities were collecting intelligence on political demonstrations, strikes, labor and social unrest, foreign and domestic subversive activities, and areas of dispute between the international settlement and the Chinese government. The time period covered by these files extends from 1894 to 1945, and the most extensive coverage is provided by the special branch dossier files, which date from 1929-1945. Many files are organized around a particular topic and contain different kinds of source material. For example, a report on a major strike includes memoranda regarding that strike, plus supporting reports, handbills, translations of Chinese press coverage, and clippings from the English-language press.
Coverage: 1910 - 1929
Access via Archives Unbound, this database includes documents and correspondences chiefly between the diplomats and other officials of China and the United States from 1910 to 1929.
Coverage: 1959 - 1996
Archives the official newspaper of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union, Pravda. It is a primary source to study the Soviet's thoughts and perspectives towards other communist countries and world events during the Cold War and its following years from 1959 to 1996.
Coverage: 1943 - 1946
This English-language newspaper in Shanghai, China was published by Post-Mercury Co. It is an important source to study Republican China and Shanghai's American business community from 1943 to 1946.
It provides full-text declassified documents from U.S. government agencies, including the CIA, FBI, White House, State Department, and others. Document types include: correspondence, memoranda, minutes of cabinet meetings, technical studies, national security policy statements, and intelligence estimates
It focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century, including a wide array of primary source documents serials, books, manuscripts, diaries, reports, and visuals materials.