Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide introduces selected reference sources on Modern Chinese History from the late Qing period onwards available in the CUHK Library and on the Internet. For assistance, please send your questions via Live Chat or contact the relevant faculty liaison librarian.
This guide was designed by Miriam Seeger, a visiting librarian from the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, Germany, during her stay at the Learning Support of CUHK Library. It was first published on September 2, 2015.
Chinese Maritime Customs Service Publications
The Maritime Customs Service of China compiled the publications from 1859 to 1949. This collection is sourced from the 2nd Historical Archives of China in Nanjing and incorporates its Statistical Series publication. It is an important source to study China's customs administration, international trade, treaty ports and tax returns from mid-nineteenth to mid-twentieth century.
FBI File on Owen Lattimore
American sinologist Owen Lattimore had conducted research throughout China from 1938 to 1950. In 1952 he was charged of being espionage to promote Communist interest. This file related to Lattimore's leftist sympathiesis is sourced from Federal Bureau of Investigation Library.
Norman Bethune Papers
Norman Bethune (1890–1939), a Canadian thoracic surgeon, is a dedicated Communist to help the Red Army in China. Sourced from McGill University, this collection consists of letter correspondences, newspaper and magazine clippings, photographs, pamphlets, and research materials.
Old town continues to evolve into modern time
It provides data, analysis and forecasts for all 31 provinces and 292 of China’s largest cities that providing you with a comprehensive understanding of China.
Barometer on China’s Development 中國發展數據庫
Database for the History of Contemporary Chinese Political Movements 中國當代政治運動史數據庫
Coverage: 1929 - 1999
Includes 4 datasets, i.e. Chinese Cultural Revolution Database (中國文化大革命文庫), Chinese Anti-Rightist Campaign Database, 1957- (中國反右運動數據庫, 1957 - ), Chinese Great Leap Forward and Great Famine Database, 1958-1962 (中國大躍進 - 大飢荒數據庫, 1958-1962), and Database of the Chinese Political Campaigns in the 1950s: From Land Reform to the State-Private Partnership 1949-1956 (中國五十年代初中期的政治運動數據庫：從土地改革到公私合營，1949-1956).
近代報紙數據庫 (Modern Newspapers in China)
Important Aademic Journals
Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Arts)