Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a subject guide to some of the most important electronic resources in the field of Humanities. Email or phone the subject specialist for more information and assistance.
APA (American Psychological Association) style
APA citation style refers to the rules and conventions established by the American Psychological Association for documenting sources used in a research paper.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is completely searchable and easy to use, providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient Tools, such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets.
MLA (Modern Language Association) style
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities.
What is a citation
Watch this video to learn what is a citation and why we need citations?
Using Information Responsibly for Your Assignments
Major Online Humanities Resources
Arts & Humanities Citation Index at Web of Science
Coverage: 1975 - present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities from over 1,100 leading journals. Also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Includes all cited references captured from indexed articles and supports cited reference search.
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities
Coverage: 1990 - present
Indexes conference literature in all fields of social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes all cited references captured from indexed articles and supports cited reference search.
Coverage: 1600 - 1909
Provides the documents of the 17th to 20th century thinkers and writers to read their correspondences with their friends and families, bankers, booksellers, patrons and publishers.
Essay and General Literature Index
Coverage: 1985 - present
Provides access to essays in anthologies and collections published in the US, Canada and UK in the field of humanities and social sciences.
Humanities Full Text
Coverage: index 1984 - ; full-text 1995-present
Indexes feature articles, original works and reviews on archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary & social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.
Coverage: 1923 - present
Allows users access to nearly all the ProQuest periodical databases and provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of disciplines including business and economics, environmental studies, geography, public administration, social science, political sciences, and more.
Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Arts)
Make an appointment for the Research Consultation Service (for postgraduate students and CUHK faculty members)
WhatsApp us at 5578 8898; 9am - 5pm (Mon-Fri)
Phone us at (852) 3943-7305
Send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org