Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HTMG5007 Hospitality and Tourism Strategic Management: Search CompuStat

How to Access CompuStat

From the E-Resources tab on the library website, select Databases by Type, and then select Company Financial / Investment Data, and then select CompuStat.

How to Register an Account in Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) to use Computstat

Please access CompuStat via WRDS. Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) provides access and analyzes to a variety of financial data sources for academic research. The Library subscribes to a number of datasets on WRDS.  

WRDS Sign in page

 

SELECT WRDS:

From the E-Resources tab on the library website, select Business from Databases by Subject, and then select WRDS.

ACCESS WRDS:

WRDS is available to current CUHK faculty and students only. Alumni and visitors are not eligible to access due to licensing restrictions.

  • Faculty, Visiting Scholars, PhD students and Research Assistants can access the WRDS via the WEB through individual accounts which allows unlimited access via web, SSH, and or FTP and includes 750 MB of permanent disk storage. 
  • Other CUHK users can access WRDS* on campus.

*You need to open an email account with an active cuhk.edu.hk email address. We will send an email to this address with the information needed to sign in.
 

To apply for an Individual Account:

WRDS Register Screen

For Faculty, Visiting Scholars, and PhD Students

Click here to apply and select the Register tab to fill in the followings:

  1. Account Type : select the appropriate type.
  2. Institution : Chinese University of Hong Kong
  3. First Name
  4. Last Name
  5. Email : input an active cuhk.edu.hk email address.
  6. Desired Username
  7. Click Register  button

 

For Research Assistants

Please send your request to CUHK WRDS Representative with the following data:

When the request is approved, you will receive an email with instructions for setting the password and logging into WRDS.

Enquiry on account application, please contact CUHK WRDS Representative.

 

The list of available datasets is listed under “Your Subscriptions” on WRDS.

WRDS Subscription screen

 

Video: Identify Major Business Databases (0:19)

Search Company Information in CompuStat

A list of subscribed datasets is accessible under “Your Subscriptions” on WRDS. Select CompuStat.

Your subscription list in WRDS

 

SEARCHING FOR & GETTING DATA FROM CompuStat:

In CompuStat, you need to complete the following four steps to submit your request. 

  1. Select date & frequency range of data
  2. Select database search method
  3. Select variables
  4. Select output format

 

Step 1:  Choose Your Date Range

Search Computstat: choose your date range

 

Step 2: Apply Your Company Code

GVKEY stands for the Global Company Key. In CompuStat, each company is assigned a GVKEY which is a unique six-digit number key.

e.g. in the query below, 016538 is the GVKEY of Cathay Pacific Airways Ltd. 

Search Computstat: apply your company codes

Step 3: Query Variables

Select the items on the left panel to include them in the search on the right panel.

Search CompuStat: select query variables

 

Step 4: Select Query Output

Search CompuStat: select query output

 

How to Find GVKEY of a Company in CompuStat

GVKEY stands for the Global Company Key. In CompuStat, each company is assigned a GVKEY which is a unique six-digit number key.

e.g. How to find the GVKEY of Cathay Pacific Airways Ltd. in CompuStat:

1.  Click Code Lookup under Step 2: Apply your company codes

2.  Enter the keyword(s) of the company name to search, e.g. enter Cathay and select Contains to search

3.  The result list contains the GVKEY of companies. For Cathay Pacific Airways Ltd., the GVKEY is 016538

 

How to find GVKEY of a company in CompuStat