Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide introduces selected reference resources on Japanese Studies available in the CUHK Library and on the Internet. For assistance, please send your questions via Live Chat or contact the relevant faculty liaison librarian.
Sakura in the Chinese University of Hong Kong
Area Studies: Japan
Coverage: 1400 - 2000
It provides a wide range of sources, by writers, diplomats, tourists, businessmen, missionaries and others, documenting the political, cultural and social history of Japan from 1400 to the 20th century, one of the useful database from Research Source which provides digital access to over 8 million pages of primary source materials selected from the extensive microfilm back catalogue of Adam Matthew Publications.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Coverage: 1971 - present
Essays on general anthropology, communal relations, ethnic groups, folk medicine, immigrant communities, old age, physical anthropology, population, race relations, social change, social conditions, social customs, social problems, social structure, women, youth & children.
Fuzoku Gaho 風俗画報
Coverage: 1889 - 1916
The first graphic magazine published in Japan on social customs and cultural trends in the Edo, Meiji and Taisho periods. Some special series such as illustrated guides to famous places, photo journal of the Russo-Japanese War and the industrial exposition in Tokyo are major sources to study early modern and modern Japan.
JapanKnowledge Lib ジャパンナレッジ
The database contains encyclopedias and dictionaries to search terms and information in the fields of general Japanese studies, Japanese language and literature, Japanese history, English language, European languages, East Asian languages, religion and culture, and science. It also includes Weekly Economist, Toyo Bunko and many Japanese classical literature collections.
Japan Times Archives
Coverage: 1897 - Current
The database contains newspaper Japan Times from the Meiji era, through Taisho, Showa to current Heisei era.
Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries 聞蔵Ⅱビジュアル
Coverage: 1879 - present Kikuzo II Visual contains full-text databases of Asahi Shimbun 1985- , Shukan Asahi, AERA, Reduced-size Facsimile Edition of Asahi Shimbun 1879-1989, Contemporary Dictionary Chiezo, Who's Who Database, Historical Photo Archive, and Asahi Graph.
Maisaku: Mainichi shinbun no dētabēsu (每索: 每日新聞のデータベース)
Coverage: 1872 - current
Contains Mainichi Shimbun (1872-current), Weekly Economist (1989-1999) and The Mainichi (in English) (2008-current).
Yomidas Rekishikan ヨミダス歴史館
Contains Yomiuri Shimbun issued in Meiji, Taisho & Showa Eras (1874 to 1989) and Heisei Era (1986 to current). In addition, biographical data in Contemporary Who's Who section, English publication in Japan News (1989-current) section, and local stories in Regional Sections (Showa Era, 1933-2001) are searchable in this newspaper database.
Japanese classic literature full-text database includes 556 items published by Iwanami Shoten.
Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Arts)