Skip to main content

Chemistry: Useful Websites

Internet Resources

American Chemical Society (ACS)

Provide information for chemistry professionals, educators, students at all level.
 

The Chemical Thesaurus: Reaction Chemistry Database

This database provides information on chemical entities, chemical reactions, interactions and processes and how they are connected to each other.
 

ChemIDplus

It is a free, web-based search system that provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases.
 

ChemSpider

ChemSpider is a free access service providing access to millions of chemical structures and integration to a multitude of other online services.
 

ChemTube3D

ChemTube3D contains interactive 3D animations for some of the most important organic reactions covered during an undergraduate degree with supporting information on reactivity.
 

Entrez

Entrez is a federal search engine that allows users to search across multiple databases within National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) website.
 

E-Print Network

E-Print Network a gateway to over 31,797 websites and databases worldwide, containing over 5 million e-prints in basic and applied sciences.
 

IUPAC: Compendium of Chemical Terminology - the Gold Book

It contains internationally accepted definitions for terms in chemistry.
 

Links for Chemists

List more than 8,400 links to chemistry resource.
 

NIST Chemistry WebBook

The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
 

Organic Compounds Database

The Organic Compounds Database provides physical data on organic compounds including molecular weight, melting point, boiling point, index of refraction and UV absorption peaks.
 

Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide

A web-based resource guide for synthetic organic chemists.
 

Scirus

Scirus is a comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet.
 

Sheffield Chemdex

The Sheffield Chemdex is a comprehensive index of chemistry-related links maintained by the University of Sheffield since 1993.
 

TOXNET – Toxicology Data Network

TOXNET is a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas.
 

Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Science)

Dominic Chan's picture
Dominic Chan
Contact:
Learning Services,
University Library,
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
(852) 3943-1884
Subjects:Sustainability

Need Help?

Live Chat