Skip to main content

Geography and Resource Management: Useful Websites

Google Scholar Search

Video: Evaluating Sources for Credibility

NCSU Libraries. (2015). Evaluating Sources for Credibility. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/PLTOVoHbH5c

Open Access Repository

Social Science related repositories

Useful sites

Statistics

Hong Kong Statistics

Hong Kong statistics provided by the Census & Statistics Department of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

NationMaster

Huge database of world statistics providing country comparisons using graphs, pie charts, and maps.

Maps, GIS, and Remote Sensing

What is GIS

"The Guide to Geographic Information Systems"

Global Land Cover Facility

"Global Land Cover Facility (GLCF) develops and distributes remotely sensed satellite data and products that explain land cover from the local to global scales

NASA: Earth Observatory

Explore the causes and effects of climatic and environmental change through the use of real satellite data.

Selected Map Bookmarks

From USGS Libraries Program Collection of related websites on different aspects on maps and related resources.

Taiwan Aerial Imaging 台灣阿布電影

Filming the first aerial film of Taiwan in Asia. Videos & photos on top of Taiwan are available.

Associations & Organizations

Association for Geoconservation, Hong Kong 香港地貌岩石保育協會

To promote the importance of geoconservation.

Association of American Geographers

The official web site of Association of American Geographers (AAG) founded in 1904.

China Economy (中國經濟信息網)

Maintained by the China Economic Information Network (CEInet), this site provides economic news, forecasting and analysis, laws and regulations, statistic data and investment opportunities in China.

Geological Society of Hong Kong

Promotes geological and earth science studies within Hong Kong and the adjacent region.

Hong Kong Geographical Association

The Hong Kong Section of the International Geographical Union.

International Geographical Union

The official web site of IGU (founded in 1922) that releases its news and events and provides links to other web sites in geography.

Royal Geographical Society

The official web site of the Royal Geographical Society founded in 1830 in UK. It is “a world centre for geography: supporting research, education, expeditions and fieldwork, and promoting public engagement and informed enjoyment of our world.

Royal Meteorological Society

The Learned and Professional Society for weather and climate. Our mission is to advance the understanding of weather and climate, the science and its applications for the benefit of all.

UNDP

UN's global development network, UNDP advocates for change, connects countries to knowledge, experience and resources, and to help people build a better life.

UN Water (United Nations)

United Nations

An international organization founded after the Second World War to maintain international peace and security, develop friendly relations among nations and promote social progress, better living standards and human rights.

The World Bank

The World Bank provides substantial information on the research projects of the bank. It also includes information on current events and project reports.

World Meteorological Organization

United Nation system's authoritative agency on studying and monitoring the Earth's atmosphere, its interaction with the oceans, the climate it produces and the resulting distribution of water resources.

World Trade Organization

WTO provides extensive information on the issues addressed by the Organization. Its online documents include annual and committee reports, formal notifications, guides, press release, and statistics.

Other Useful Sites

OAIster

A union catalog of digital resources in their descriptive metadata (records) using OAI-PMH (the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting).

Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Social Science)

Doris Chan's picture
Doris Chan
Contact:
Learning Support, University Library,
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Tel: (852) 3943-9738