Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Data Visualisation Guides
CUHK LibGuides on GIS and Digital Scholarship Research
Created by CUHK Library, this guide will give you some information about GIS, such as software, examples, useful websites, etc. GIS techniques is common type of data visualisation, exploring the spatial pattern of data.
CUHK LibGuides on Introduction to Digital Humanities
Written by CUHK Library, this Guide will provide you some introductory information about Digital Humanities (GIS) such as software, examples, useful websites, etc.
LibGuides on Data Visualisation by Boston College Libraries
This libguides compiled by Boston College Libraries provides various resources available at their libraries for data visualisation, and some selected projects.
LibGuides on Data Visualisation by Duke University Libraries
Written by Duke University Libraries, this LibGuides offers a good introduction to data visualisation, its types, design and related tools. The LibGuides also provides resources and tutorials related to data visualisation.
Data Visualisation Resources
The 7 Best Data Visualisation Tools In 2017
This article is published on Forbes naming the 7 most popular or most innovative data visualisation tools available in 2017.
22 Free and Open Source Data Visualisation Tools to Grow Your Business
This article lists out 22 free and open source data visualisation tools with brief descriptions and comments on them.
The Data Visualisation Catalogue
This website introduces different types of data visualisation tools with detailed description of their functions.
Information is Beautiful
This is a research blog run by a famous data journalist, David McCandless. The blog displays some interesting data stories and posts some news about new trends of data visualisation.
UW Interactive Data Lab
Previously the Stanford Visualization Group founded in 1990s, the team moved to the University of Washington in 2013 and became the UW Interactive Data Lab. The page includes publications and videos on studying and designing new interactive systems for visualising data and analysis.
Visualisingdata.com offers a wide variety of content that tracks data visualisation's trends. The website is managed by Andy Kirk, a UK-based freelance data visualisation specialist.
Databases Subscribed by CUHK Library
CUHK Library has subscribed 30 databases for CUHK Community use on economic and social data, such as Country Data China, Europa World, Global Health Observatory. These would be useful for spatial-temporal analysis with GIS applications.
- World Bank Open Data
World Bank has established a huge database of global development statistics, which allows open access for all.
- Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC)
Established by N.A.S.A., SEDAC hopes to serve as an "information gateway" between earth sciences and social sciences". It provides more than 202 datasets and 40 data collections on different issues of Human Geography such as agriculture, urban development and global poverty.
- The Humanitarian Data Exchange (HDX)
Since 2014, the HDX project has established an open-source platform to facilitate humanitarian data exchange and usage. Until now, the project has offered 4,396 datasets, from 244 locations and 840 sources, for data analysis. After setting up an account, users can upload their datasets to the HDX repository.
- National Bureau of Statistics of China
This is the official website of National Bureau of Statistics of China. While users can access the latest national statistics of China through the website, there is also a Data Visualization Gallery presenting Chinese socio-economic data in creative ways.
- China Biographical Database Project (CBDB)
Developed by Harvard University, CBDB is a free database that provides biographical information of more than 360,000 individuals in Chinese history from 7th to 19th century. The data in CBDB is useful for socio-statistical-spatial analysis as well as biographical reference.
This website provides the official data source from the HKSAR Government covering different aspects of Hong Kong's urban landscape such as population, climate, employment and labour, social welfare.
- Census and Statistics Department, HKSAR
Census and Statistics Department of the HKSAR Government provides different datasets on Hong Kong Statistics, such as population, employment rate, median hours of work. The data can be downloaded to excel and csv formats.