Skip to Main Content

Anthropology: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Academic dictionary of anthropology
Call Number: GN11 .A23 2005
UL Reference
America Goes Green by Kimberly A. Kennedy White (Editor); Leslie A. Duram (Contribution by)
Call Number: GE197 .A63 2013
UL Reference
Atlas of Religion in China: Social and Geographical Contexts by Fenggang Yang
Call Number: BL1803 .Y335 2018
Concise Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology by Mike Morris
Access via Wiley Online Library
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology by Timothy Darvill
Access via Oxford Reference Online
Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and Africa by Andrea L. Stanton (Editor); Peter J. Seybolt (Editor); Edward Ramsamy (Editor); Carolyn M Elliott (Editor)
Access via Gale Virtual Reference Library
A Dictionary of Cultural and Critical Theory by Michael Payne (Editor); Jessica Rae Barbera (Editor)
Call Number: HM621 .D527 2010
UL Reference
Access via Wiley Online Library
Dictionary of Latin American Cultural Studies by Robert McKee Irwin (Editor); Mónica Szurmuk (Editor)
Access via Ebook Central DDA Titles
Access via eBook University Press Collection (EBSCOhost)
Encyclopaedia of art and culture in India by editor Gopal Bhargava.
Call Number: DS423 .E53 2008
UL Reference
Encyclopaedia of the South-east Asian ethnography : communities and tribes by Bisht, N. S.; Bankoti, T. S.
Call Number: DS523.3 .E53 2016
Encyclopedia of Anthropology by H. James Birx (Editor)
Call Number: GN11.E53 2006
UL Reference
Access via Gale eBooks
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture by Edward L. Davis (Editor)
Call Number: DS779.23.E56 2005
UL Reference
Access via Ebook Central Perpetual Titles
Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology by Caroline Clauss-Ehlers (Editor)
Call Number: LB1027.55 .E49 2010
CC Reference
Access via Springerlink eBooks
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology by Carol R. Ember (Editor); Melvin Ember (Editor)
Call Number: GN296.E354 2004
UL Reference
Access via Gale eBooks
Access via Springerlink eBooks
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology by Yolanda Kaye Jackson (Editor)
Call Number: GN502.E63 2006
UL Reference
Access via Ebook Central Academic Complete
Encyclopedia of Prehistory by Human Relations Area Files, Inc (Compiled by); Peter N. Peregrine (Editor); Melvin Ember (Editor)
Call Number: GN710.E53 2001
UL Reference
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Patrick L. Mason
Access via Gale eBooks
Encyclopedia of Sacred Places by Norbert C. Brockman
Access via Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by Alan Barnard (Editor); Jonathan Spencer (Editor)
Access via Ebook Central Perpetual Titles
Encyclopedia of Taboos by Lynn Holden
Call Number: GN471.4.H65 2000
UL Reference
An encyclopedia of the 140 languages of China : speakers, dialects, linguistic elements, script and distribution by Walter Shearer; Sun Hongkai
Call Number: PL1031 .S43 2017
Encyclopedia of the Sixties by Abbe A. Debolt (Editor); James S. Baugess (Editor)
Access via Gale Virtual Reference Library
The Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by Thomas Riggs
Access via Gale eBooks - UDA
Historical dictionary of Ho Chi Minh City by Justin Corfield
Call Number: DS559.93.S2 C67 2013
ARL Reference
Historical dictionary of pyongyang by Justin Corfield
Call Number: DS937.P9 C67 2013
ARL Reference
Access via Cambridge University Press Online Books EBA
Historical Dictionary of Shamanism by Graham Harvey; Robert J. Wallis
Call Number: GN475.8.H27 2007
Access via Ebook Central Academic Complete
Access via Ebook Central Perpetual Titles
Historical Dictionary of Tibet by John Powers; David Templeman
Call Number: DS786 .P683 2012
Access via EBSCOhost Ebooks
History of Physical Anthropology by Frank Spencer (Editor)
Call Number: GN50.3.H57 1997
UL Reference
Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues by Bruce E. Johansen
Call Number: GF50 .J65 2003
UL Reference
The International encyclopedia of geography : people, the earth, environment and technology by Douglas Richardson (Editor-In-Chief); Noel Castree (Editor); Michael F. Goodchild (Editor); Audrey Kobayashi (Editor); Weidong Liu (Editor); Richard A. Marston (Editor)
Access via Wiley Online Major Reference Works
The International Encyclopedia of Linguistic Anthropology, 4 Volume Set by James Stanlaw (Editor)
Access via Wiley Online Major Reference Works
Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Cultures by Gale Editors
Access via Gale eBooks - UDA
Macquarie Atlas of Indigenous Australia: Second Edition by Bill Arthur (Editor); Frances Morphy (Editor)
Call Number: G2751.E1 M3 2019
Material Culture in America by Helen Sheumaker (Editor); Shirley Teresa Wajda (Editor)
Call Number: GN560.U6M37 2008
UL Reference
Milestones in Archaeology by Tim Murray
Call Number: CC100.M87 2007
UL Reference
Native America : a state-by-state historical encyclopedia by Daniel S. Murphree (Editor)
Call Number: E77 .N3512 2012
UL Reference
Peoples, Nations and Cultures by John MacKenzie
Call Number: GN316.P386 2005
UL Reference
Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest : popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 by Adam Matthew Digital
Access via Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest: popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
The Routledge Handbook of Archaeology and Globalization by Tamar Hodos (Editor)
Call Number: CC165 .R662 2017
Access via Taylor & Francis eBooks Complete
Routledge Handbook of Chinese Culture and Society by Kevin Latham (Editor)
Call Number: DS779.43 .R68 2020
Access via Ebook Central Academic Complete
Access via Taylor & Francis eBooks Complete
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Lifespan Human Development by Marc Bornstein (Editor)
Call Number: BF713 .S24 2018
UL Reference
Shamanism by Mariko Namba Walter (Editor); Eva Jane Neumann Fridman (Editor)
Call Number: GN475.8.S445 2004
UL Reference
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture by Gale Editor (Editor)
Access via Gale eBooks
Star Struck by Sam Riley (Editor)
Call Number: E169.12 .S73 2010
UL Reference
Access via Ebook Central Academic Complete
Street Food by Ryzia De Cássia Vieira Cardoso (Editor); Michèle Companion (Editor); Stefano Roberto Marras (Editor)
Access via Taylor & Francis eBooks Complete
The Wiley Blackwell encyclopedia of race, ethnicity, and nationalism by John Stone, Rutledge Dennis, Polly Rizova, Anthony D. Smith, and Xiaoshuo Hou
Access via Wiley Online Major Reference Works
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Access via Gale eBooks
中国神怪大辞典 by 栾保群编著
Call Number: BL1802 .L83 2009
CC Reference
中国语言地图集 = Language atlas of China : 第2版. 少数民族语言卷
Call Number: G2306.E3 Z46 2012
UL Ref Oversize
中国语言地图集 = Language atlas of China : 第2版. 汉语方言卷
Call Number: G2306.E3 Z45 2012
UL Ref Oversize
大辞海. 民族卷 by 分科主编史金波
Call Number: GN307 .D33 2012
UL Reference
汉英文物考古词汇 = A Chinese-English glossary of cultural relics and archaeology by 王殿明, 杨绮华编译.
Call Number: DS715 .H363 2005
UL Reference
英汉人类学辞典 = English-Chinese dictionary of anthropology by 彭南林编著
Call Number: GN12 .P46 2008
UL Reference

Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Arts)

Email Me

Contact:

Learning Support, University Library,
The Chinese University of Hong Kong

(852) 3943-6252

Need Help?

Phone us at 3943 7305
WhatsApp us at 5578 8898; 9am - 5pm (Mon-Fri)
Send an email to library@cuhk.edu.hk
Make an appointment
for the Research Consultation Service (for postgraduate students and CUHK faculty members)