An ORCID account has five sections, namely, personal information, employment, education and qualifications, invited positions and distinctions, membership and service, funding, and works. All sections allow users to input information manually. Nevertheless, some sections allow users to import data from external databases and via BibTeX files. You may find different input methods for each section below.
**You are encouraged to add The Chinese University of Hong Kong in your employment section so that your ORCID is affiliated with your current employer.
|
Section |
Input Method | ||
| Manually | Import from external databases | Import from Bibtext | |
| Personal Information | ✔ | ||
| Employment | ✔ | ||
| Education | ✔ | ||
| Invited positions and distinctions | ✔ | ||
| Membership and service | ✔ | ||
| Funding | ✔ | ✔ | |
| Works | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ |
Section 1: Personal Information
Add information maunally
◾ You may add your personal information by clicking the pencil icons next to the field you want to edit.
Section 2: Education
Add information maunally
◾ You may add information about which university you have attended and what degree you have obtained by clicking "Add manually".
◾ Please follow the onscreen instructions to fill in a form.
Section 3: Employment
Add information maunally
◾ You may add information about your current and previous employment by clicking "Add manually".
◾ Please follow the onscreen instructions to fill in a form.
Section 4: Funding
Add information maunally
◾ You may add information about research grants you have been awarded by clicking "Add manually".
◾ Please follow the onscreen instructions to fill in a form.
Importing information from an external database
◾ You may import your funding information from a database provided by ÜberResearch that includes research grants information from worldwide funding organizations such as the University Grants Committee (UGC) and the National Science Foundation (NSF). You may obtain a complete list of funding organizations at https://orcid.uberresearch.com/datasources. Please follow the steps below to connect your ORCID to the ÜberWizard.
Click "Search & link"
Click "ÜberWizard"
Click "Authorize"
Search your grant information and follow the onscreen instruction to select and import
Section 5: Works
Add information maunally
◾ You may add information about works you have published by clicking "Add manually".
◾ Please follow the onscreen instructions to fill in a form.
Importing information from an external database
◾ Some ORCID’s member organizations have integrated their systems with ORCID. The integration allows you to import your works from external databases into your ORCID account by using the "Search & link" function. You are recommended to add your works by using this function to reduce data errors and to establish a reliable link between your works and your ORCID iD. The databases include such works as articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, datasets, and student theses. You may follow the following steps to import your works.
Click "Search & link"
Choose a database you want to import your works from, for example "CrossRef Metadata Search"
Click "Authorize" to grant permission to the selected database, and then follow the onscreen instructions to select and import your works
Importing information by BibTeX files
◾ BibTeX is a file format used for reference management tools such as EndNote and RefWork. If you are using a reference management tool to manage the list of your works, you may export the list in a BibTeX file and import the file into your ORCID account. The importing steps are shown below.
Click "Import BibTeX"
Click "Choose file" and select the BibTeX file you want to import into your ORCID
