This Library guide provides the course readings information for some courses of the Master of Science in Speech-Language Pathology programme.
Acquired Neurogenic Communication Disorders (SLPA5203)
Required readings
Aphasia and Related Neurogenic Communication Disorders
Motor Speech Disorders: Substrates, Differential Diagnosis, and ManagementRecommended readings
Anatomy and Physiology of Speech, Language and Hearing (SLPA5106)
Required readings
Applied Anatomy and Physiology for Speech-Language Pathology and AudiologyRecommended readings
Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology for Communication Disorders
Netter's Atlas of Anatomy for Speech, Swallowing, and Hearing
Audiological Evaluation and Aural Rehabilitation (SLPA5209)
Required readings
Fundamentals of Audiology for the Speech-Language Pathologist
Video-Based Aural Rehabilitation WorkbookRecommended readings
Aural Rehabilitation
A Basic Introduction to Speech Perception
The Development of Speech Perception: The Transition from Speech Sounds to Spoken Words
Foundations of Spoken Language for Hearing-Impaired Children
Hearing in Children
Introduction to Aural Rehabilitation: Serving Children and Adults with Hearing Loss
Management of Hearing Handicap
Profound Deafness and Speech CommunicationSpeech and the Hearing-Impaired Child: Theory and PracticeCraniofacial Anomalies (SLPA5208)
Class 1
The Handbook of Language and Speech Disorders
Evaluation and Management of Cleft Lip and Palate
Comprehensive Cleft Care, Second Edition: Volume OneClass 2
Case studies in cleft palate speechCase studies in cleft palate speechClass 3
Comprehensive Cleft Care, Second Edition: Volume OneClass 4
Comprehensive Cleft Care, Volume 1 NonsurgicalClass 5
Interdisciplinary Cleft CareClass 6
Useful Web Resources
Dysphagia
Required readings
Dysphagia: clinical management in adults and childrenRecommended readings
Dysphagia Following Stroke
Logemann's Evaluation and Treatment of Swallowing Disorders
Manual of Diagnostic and Therapeutic Techniques for Disorders of Deglutition
Principles of Deglutition: A Multidisciplinary Text for Swallowing and its Disorders
Fluency Disorders (SLPA5201)
Required readings
Stuttering: An Integrated Approach to its Nature and TreatmentRecommended readings
Stuttering: foundations and clinical applications
Treatment of Stuttering: Established and Emerging ApproachesLanguage Acquisition for Speech-Language-Pathology (SLPA5403)
Required readings
Child Language: Acquisition and DevelopmentRecommended readings
The Bilingual Child: Early Development and Language Contact
Blackwell Handbook of Language Development
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language
The Cambridge Handbook of Child Language
The Cambridge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition
Child Language: Acquisition and Growth
Dual Language Development and Disorders: A Handbook on Bilingualism and Second Language Learning
Encyclopedia of Chinese Language and Linguistics
Experimental Methods in Language Acquisition Research
First Language Acquisition
Handbook of Child Language Disorders
Handbook of Generative Approaches to Language Acquisition
The Handbook of Second Language Acquisition
How Languages are Learned
Introducing Second Language Acquisition
Investigations in Universal Grammar: A Guide to Experiments on the Acquisition of Syntax and Semantics
Language Acquisition: The Growth of Grammar
Language Development
Language Development from Theory to Practice
Methods for Assessing Children's Syntax
Methods for Studying Language Production
The Oxford Handbook of Developmental Linguistics
Research Methods in Child Language: A Practical Guide
Research Methods in Language Acquisition: Principles, Procedures, and Practices
Research Methods in Second Language Acquisition: A Practical Guide
Second Language AcquisitionLanguage Disorders from Infancy to Adolescence I (SLPA5205)
Recommended Texts
Language Disorders from Infancy through Adolescence: Listening, Speaking, Reading, Writing, and CommunicatingLanguage Development from Theory to PracticeReadings and/or Web-based Resources for Each Class
Class 1
Class 2
Treatment of Language Disorders in ChildrenTreatment of Language Disorders in ChildrenLanguage Disorders from Infancy Through AdolescenceLanguage Development from Theory to Practice
Language Development Foundations, Processes, and Clinical ApplicationsClass 3 & 4
Class 5
Language Disorders from Infancy Through AdolescenceClass 6 & 7
Class 8
Language Disorders from Infancy Through AdolescenceClass 9 & 10
Language Disorders in Children and Adults
Understanding Development and Disorder in Cantonese Using Language Sample AnalysisClass 11
The Handbook of Language and Speech DisordersClass 12
The Handbook of Language and Speech DisordersClass 13
Additional Readings and Resources for SLPA5205
Language Disorders from Infancy to Adolescence II (SLPA5206)
Recommended Texts and Web Resources
Main Textbok
Language Disorders from Infancy through Adolescence: Listening, Speaking, Reading, Writing, and CommunicatingSupplementary Textbook
Language Development from Theory to PracticeAssessment and Intervention in the Older School-Age Child and in Adolescence
Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Populations, Bilingualism
ICF (WHO)
Multimodal Communication for Special Populations (SLPA5204)
Required readings
Augmentative and Alternative Communication: Supporting Children and Adults with Complex Communication NeedsRecommended readings
Research Methodology and Evidence Based Appraisal for Speech Language Pathology (SLPA5103)
Phonetics and Phonology for Speech-Language-Pathology (SLPA5401)
Required readings
Recommended readings
A Course in Phonetics
An Introduction to Phonetics and Phonology
Phonetics: Transcription, Production, Acoustics, and Perception
Vowels and ConsonantsProfessional Development and Ethics I (SLPA5101)
Required readings
Recommended readings
Here's How to Do Therapy: Hands on Core Skills in Speech-Language Pathology
Intervention Planning for Children with Communication Disorders: A Guide for Clinical Practicum and Professional Practice
Professional Issues in Speech-Language Pathology and AudiologySpeech Sound Disorders (SLPA5207)
Main Textbook
Children's Speech : An Evidence-Based Approach to Assessment and Intervention
Interventions for Speech Sound Disorders in ChildrenOther Useful Texts
Articulation and Phonological Disorders: Speech Sound Disorders in Children
Differential Diagnosis and Treatment of Children with Speech DisorderUseful Web Resources
Class 1
Children's SpeechClass 2
Children's SpeechClass 3
Children's SpeechClass 4
Children's SpeechClass 5
Children's SpeechSpeech Sound Disorders in ChildrenClass 6
Class 7
Children's SpeechClass 8
Children's SpeechClass 9
Children's SpeechClass 10
Interventions for Speech Sound Disorders in ChildrenClass 11
Interventions for Speech Sound Disorders in ChildrenClass 12
Class 13
Interventions for Speech Sound Disorders in ChildrenVoice and Laryngeal Disorders (SLPA5202)
Required readings
Recommended readings
Exercises for Voice Therapy
Understanding Voice Problems
The Voice and Voice Therapy
Voice Therapy: Clinical Case Studies
