Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a guide to some of the most important electronic resources in the field of Sociology. Email or phone the subject specialist for more information and assistance.
New Additions List: Social Sciences
Citing References - APA
APA (American Psychological Association) style is one of the common citation styles for referencing:
- APA Style Guide from Purdue Online Writing Lab
The resource provides the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. It contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.
- You may also read the Citation style recommendations / guidelines for other disciplines from the University.
Welcome to the Subject Guide for Sociology
Image source: https://pixabay.com/
Some major databases for Sociology:
Offers an extensive selection of document index that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization.
Coverage: 1952 - present
Provides abstracts of over 1,800 international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Sociology : A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Coverage: 1953 - present
Includes 36 journals on Contemporary, Comparative, and Classical Sociology, Consumer Culture, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Leisure Studies, Social Theory, Sociology of Sport, and Labour Studies.
Studies on Women & Gender Abstracts
Coverage: 1995 - present
Abstracts and indexes to the journals and books on education, employment, family and community, medicine and health, sex and gender role socialization, social policy, social psychology, cutlure, media, biography, literary criticism and historical studies.
Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Social Science)