Open Educational Resources: eBooks and Textbooks

A large repository of open educational resources in a variety of disiciplines, level of study, and material type. For textbooks, do a search or browse by subject and filter by "textbook" in material type.

Hundreds of open college level textbooks, many of them are peer-reviewed by faculty at University of Minnesota.

Provides free, peer-reviewed, openly licensed books at college level. Many of them are authored by university faculty members.

A curated collection of open textbooks, many reviewed by university faculty in state of British Columbia (Canada).

Developed by the Open Textbooks for Hong Kong project. Most textbooks are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike license.

Growing collection of open textbooks authored and peer reviewed by State University of New York libraries faculty and staff.

Contains a small collection of free textbooks provided by the University of Minnesota

Provides open textbooks, mainly on business subjects.

Open resources on academic and research grant writing.

One of the largest open book platform containing over 30,000 books from over 400 publishers. While all books on this platform can be accessed freely, some can be reused.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles in the public domain.

A large collection of classics and public domain works. One of the first open ebook initiatives.

A not-for-profit Open Access publisher from the United Kingdom.

Provides freely accessible books mainly in Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences.

A digital library of over 10,000,000 fully accessible public domain ebooks and classics.

A project of the Wikimedia Foundation, this collection of group written textbooks and content created follows rules similar to Wikipedia.

Offers a collection of millions of titles in the public domain

Listing of more than 35,000 free web-accessible books in a variety of disciplines from the University of Pennsylvania

This extensive list of open access book publishers provides resources for finding books in a variety of fields

Provides access to over 200,000 eBook titles on world’s classic literature

International collection of texts supported by UNESCO and developed by a team at the US Library of Congress in collaboration with partner institutions in many countries

Provides articles published by different law schools.