NURS3135 Nursing Research: Databases

Coverage: 1994 - present
A nursing and midwifery database that covers over 220 UK medical journals and other English language titles related to nurses, midwives, healthcare management and professions allied to medicine.

Coverage: 1946 - present
US National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database of citations and abstracts currently from approximately 5,000 biomedical journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Coverage extends back to 1946 in which OLDMEDLINE records are included.

CINAHL Ultimate provides nursing and allied health professionals access to leading nursing and allied health journals. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, and research instruments.

Coverage: 1946 - present
This database includes a wide range of journal literature in nursing and health subjects. It includes content from Journals@Ovid and nursing and allied health subset of MEDLINE, enriched with further bibliographical data from Ovid.

Coverage: 1995 - present
Ovid Emcare, a nursing and allied health database, provides access to journals focusing on clinical care practices, including many sources not covered by other leading nursing databases. Emcare is integrated with the EMTREE thesaurus.

Coverage: 1910 - present
EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research.

PubMed contains over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, etc. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health. PubMed (with full text) contains links to CUHK’s full-text holdings.

Coverage: 1996 - present
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. These databases are: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs)

JBI COnNECT (Clinical Online Network of Evidence for Care and Therapeutics) is a web-based system that integrates resources and tools to assist health care workers make evidence-based informed clinical decisions about the care and treatment of their patients/residents/clients. JBI COnNECT is made up of a series of specialty ‘nodes’ for different areas of health including aged care, acute care, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, midwifery care and infection control. Each node contains resources and evidence specific to that area of health.

British Pharmacopoeia collects quality standards for UK medicinal products and pharmaceutical substances. It is widely consulted by professionals involved in pharmaceutical research, manufacturing and testing.

Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey is a comprehensive drug reference that supports healthcare professionals in making sound medication decisions by providing the fastest access to the most current, accurate and clinically relevant drug information.

Provides point-of-care drug and clinical information.

Provides a wide range of databases tailored to meet the needs of healthcare professionals, including information related to drugs, acute care, toxicology, diseases and patient education. Patient education materials are included in the CareNotes module of MICROMEDEX.

Provides decision support through a step-by-step approach that is structured around patient consultation, covering diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention.

DynaMed is an evidence-based, clinical reference tool designed for use at point-of-care by physicians and other health care professionals. Over 3,200 topic summaries covering diseases, disorders, diagnostics, and drugs are derived from peer reviewed journals and systematic evidence review databases.

On-campus access only
Up-to-date is an evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical resource to assist with diagnosis and treatment by providing specific answers to clinical questions, increasing users’ clinical knowledge and improving patient care. It covers over 8,500 topic reviews in 17 medical specialties written by over 4400 editors, physicians and reviewers. They monitor more than 440 journals and incorporate new studies in the context of what has already been published in that field. These topic reviews include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations. They are fully illustrated and referenced and with links to Medline abstracts and a drug database Lexi-Comp.

Clinical Skills is a web-based platform that brings over 1,200 evidence-based skills and procedures (with specialties) of nursing skills. For each skill, there are quick sheet, test and demo to facilitate learning and teaching.

Dynamic Health is a comprehensive collection of evidence-based skills content and corresponding skills checklists intended to help nurses and allied health professionals develop critical clinical, transcultural and patient instruction skills

Lippincott Advisor is a collection of 3,500+ evidence-based entries that cover clinical diagnosis and treatment, nurse care plans, patient handouts and quality and safety initiatives.

Lippincott procedures is a point-of-care procedure guide to help nursing professionals carry out effective care. Information includes required equipment, quick lists, patient instructions, skills checklist, competency tests and videos and images.