Business Database Guides: Home

It provides data, analysis and forecasts for all 31 provinces and 292 of China’s largest cities that providing you with a comprehensive understanding of China.

Audit Analytics provides research on over 150,000 active audits and more than 10,000 accounting firms. Audit Analytics data includes primary data source for tracking and analysis of public company disclosures related to the audit, compliance, governance, corporate actions and federal litigation.

Audit Analytics provides research on over 150,000 active audits and more than 10,000 accounting firms. Audit Analytics data includes primary data source for tracking and analysis of public company disclosures related to the audit, compliance, governance, corporate actions and federal litigation.
Access to the data is via WRDS.

Business Source Ultimate works for your students like a solid business plan – it offers an unprecedented wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world.

Provides authoritative financial and market data covering publicly traded companies in more than 80 countries. The Library subscribes to CompuStat North America. It also included Capital IQ which is a suite of databases from S&P providing people and key development of companies.

A comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolios, treasury bond and risk-free rates, and mutual fund databases.

Covers the premier China financial information. The Library subscribes to 24 databases in different series, including China Stock Market Series, the China Fund Market Series, and more.

A collection of peer-reviewed case studies focusing on business decision making and management development throughout key global emerging markets.

It is an integrated suite of tools to conduct research and analysis across a spectrum of environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors of corporations worldwide.

Eventus Software performs event studies that compute abnormal returns for specific corporate actions or events using data directly from the CRSP stock.

Considered the market standard, FactSet Ownership provides global institutional, mutual fund, stakeholder, and float-related share ownership information.

Coverage: 1965 - present
Provides scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. The database contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating back as early as 1965, with full text for more than 480 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books. 

Provides corporate governance data. The Directors dataset details the structure and practices of boards of directors for around 1,500 S&P companies back to 1996. Goverance dataset includes information on takeover defense and other corporate governance provisions for major US firms.

Coverage: 1996 - present
Ivy DB OptionMetrics is a comprehensive source of historical price and implied volatility data for the US equity and index options markets. It contains historical prices of options and their associated underlying instruments, correctly calculated implied volatilities, and option sensitivities.

The MFLINKS tables provide a reliable means to link CRSP Mutual Fund (MFDB) data that covers mutual fund performance, expenses, and related information to equity holdings data in the Thomson Reuters Mutual Fund Ownership data (formerly known as the CDA S12 data).

It contains Morningstar’s global investment database and analytics, including international open-ended and closed-end mutual funds; hedge funds, exchange traded funds, and more.
(Access via workstations at the following locations: University Library 1/F, Chung Chi Library G/F & 2/F, United College Library 1/F )

This corporate governance historical dataset (formerly GMI Ratings) is updated annually and contains approximately 225 unique data points organized into four primary categories for approximately 3,000 US companies.
It comprises KLD Social Ratings Database, MSCI ESG KLD Stats Data Set. The Domini 400 SocialSM Index (DS 400 Index), which is recognized as the first social investment benchmark. It contains social ratings for the 3000 largest publicly traded US companies with high Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) ratings.
MSCI also comprises the GMI Ratings formerly Corporate Library which is a source of comprehensive objective corporate governance, compensation, and critical company information. It contains information on over 4,000 U.S. companies and over 40,000 corporate executives and directors compensation.

Orbis Global is a detailed global company information database. It covers around 300 million both listed and non-listed companies across the globe. Useful information like company financial, executives background, M&A deals, company filings, ownership structure, etc. is available for your research. (No. of concurrent user = 10)

Coverage: 1971 - present
Provides nearly 3,000 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, and more.

Comprises global coverage in business and economics, the collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, and working papers, as well as trade publications, market research reports, and key periodicals. Comprising all contents from: ABI/INFORM Collection, Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection, Asian and European Business Collection, Business Market Research Collection, and Entrepreneurship Database.

Analyzes the unstructured content from thousands of publications to extract information on named entities and financially relevant events in the public eye.

Replacing the Thomson Reuters Eikon, including the DataStream Professional. It is a financial research database providing a wide range of financial data including financial instruments such as equities, equity indices, bonds, bond indices, futures, warrants, options, and credit default swaps as well as economic data, fundamental company accounts data.

Contains intraday transactions data (trades and quotes) for all securities listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) and American Stock Exchange (AMEX), as well as Nasdaq National Market System (NMS) and SmallCap issues.

It provides Chinese financial market data and information, including equities, bonds, funds, indexes, warrants, commodity futures, foreign exchanges, and economy. In Chinese.
Access via workstation at the following location: Chung Chi Library G/F (workstation #G29)

Provides access and analyze a variety of financial data sources for academic research. The Library subscribes to the following datasets through WRDS: CompuStat, ComScore, Corporate Library, CRSP, CUSIP Master File, EVENTUS, I/B/E/S, Ivy DB OptionMetrics, KLD Social Ratings Database, TAQ, PACAP, Riskmetrics, WRDS SEC Analytics Suite.

Coverage: 1994 - present
This data mining tool allows researchers to retrieve and export customized subsets of the most common SEC filing reports reside in WRDS datasets.