Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What Is Citation
Citation tells readers about the sources you have used in your work. It can be found in the text or at the end of the work as a bibliography / reference list.
Watch this video to learn what is a citation and why we need citations? (1:21)
Why Do We Have to Cite
- Acknowledge the ideas of the original authors and give them credit.
- To avoid plagiarism.
- To support your arguments.
- To help readers to locate your reference for further research.
Elements of a Cited Work
Use the elements of cited works to compose a list of references at the end of your paper so that readers can retrieve the items you mention in your text.
For example, if you mention the book Ghetto at the Center of the World: Chungking Mansions, Hong Kong by Gordon Mathews in your text, you must document this source.
In-text citation (Author, Year of Publication, and Page Number in parenthesis)
There exists a wealth of information closely related to our life and study in various sources of social media such as
Facebook YouTube Twitter Blog B, etc.
To cite, note the major elements of social media materials -- Author, Date, Title and Source.
Examples on Citation Styles
RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to import citations from databases, produce bibliographies in a variety of citation styles (e.g. MLA, APA, Chicago, etc), format in-text references or footnotes, and create personal databases of citations.
EndNote is a research tool and citation manager. Use it to:
- Import and store references that you find in LibrarySearch and PDFs downloaded from journal websites or online database
- Create bibliographies and reference lists in over 7,000 styles
- Share references with research partners and colleagues in EndNote Web