LibGuides: Sustainability: Home

Introduction

This is a guide to some of the most important electronic resources in the field of Sustainability Studies. Contact the Faculty Librarian for more information and assistance.

Statistical eResources with datasets on Sustainability

eiu.com
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to reports published by the Economist Intelligence Unit, covering a wide range of business information. Titles include Country Forecast, China Premium Country, China hand, CountryData, Market Indicators and Forecasts, and Global Forecasting Service.
MSCI (formerly KLD and GMI)
This corporate governance historical dataset (formerly GMI Ratings) is updated annually and contains approximately 225 unique data points organized into four primary categories for approximately 3,000 US companies.
It comprises KLD Social Ratings Database, MSCI ESG KLD Stats Data Set. The Domini 400 SocialSM Index (DS 400 Index), which is recognized as the first social investment benchmark. It contains social ratings for the 3000 largest publicly traded US companies with high Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) ratings.
MSCI also comprises the GMI Ratings formerly Corporate Library which is a source of comprehensive objective corporate governance, compensation, and critical company information. It contains information on over 4,000 U.S. companies and over 40,000 corporate executives and directors compensation.
OECD iLibrary
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1998 - present
Online access to OECD's publications, including books, journals, series, working papers, and statistical databases.
World Competitiveness Online
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1987 - present
Compiled by the Institute for Management Development (IMD), it provides annual reports on the competitiveness among 57 countries by analyzing economic performance, government efficiency, business efficiency and infrastructure.
WDI Online
Coverage: 1960 - present
Statistics form the World Bank's WDI contains more than 800 development indicators.

Citing Reference

APA (American Psychological Association) style

APA citation style refers to the rules and conventions established by the American Psychological Association for documenting sources used in a research paper

The Chicago Manual of Style Online

The Chicago Manual of Style Online is completely searchable and easy to use, providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient Tools, such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets.

MLA (Modern Language Association) style

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities.

Key Databases

Source: United Nations

Key Databases:

Academic Search Ultimate
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1975 - present
A multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ultimate works for your students like a solid business plan – it offers an unprecedented wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.

Web Resources:

Journals:

Faculty Liaison Librarian (Social Science)

Bernice Chan

Email Me

Contact:

Learning Support, University Library,
The Chinese University of Hong Kong

3943-9754

Need Help?

Make an appointment
for the Research Consultation Service (for postgraduate students and CUHK faculty members)
Phone us at 3943 7305
Send an email to library@cuhk.edu.hk
WhatsApp us at 5578 8898; 9am - 5pm (Mon-Fri)
Zoom-with-a-Librarian 2-5pm (Mon-Fri)

CUHK Main

Sustainability: Home