Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a guide to some of the most important electronic resources related to Basic Research Skills. Email or phone the subject specialists for more information and assistance.
Major Online Resources
Research Smart Tutorial (http://smart.lib.cuhk.edu.hk/):
Learn how to properly and efficiently find, utilize, evaluate, legally share and create content using digital technologies.
Discipline-specific Library Research Skills
The following online courses are available from the CUHK Blackboard.
- Please login to the CUHK Blackboard;
- Click on any course link(s) below to self-enroll.
To access the content:
- Enroll in any course(s) listed below;
- Login to your own Blackboard account to view the content of that specific course(s).
(Clicking on the links below repeatedly will only bring you to the self-enrollment screen again. You are only required to enroll once to view the content.)
LIB 101 Library Research Skills in Business
LIB 102 Library Research Skills in Education
LIB 103 Library Research Skills in Arts & Humanities
LIB 104 Library Research Skills in Engineering
LIB 105 Library Research Skills in Law
LIB 106 Library Research Skills in Social Science
LIB 107 Library Research Skills in Science
LIB 108 Library Research Skills in Medicine
Major Databases and Websites
CUHK Electronic Theses and Dissertations Collection = 香港中文大學博碩士論文庫
The CUHK Electronic Theses and Dissertations Collection (the ETD Collection) holds the full-text of research degree’s theses and doctoral dissertations submitted by postgraduate students of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) since 1967. It comprises more than 13,000 volumes in both English and Chinese. Searchable PDFs for the body text, abstracts and table of contents in both English and Chinese are provided. Alternatively, doctoral dissertations from 1997 onwards are also accessible via Dissertations & Theses @ CUHK.
Dissertations & Theses @ Chinese University of Hong Kong (Dissertations & Theses@CUHK)
Coverage: 1997 - present
Includes the full-text of CUHK doctoral dissertations since 1997.
Coverage: 1823 - present
Includes the abstracts and references of 15,000 peer-reviewed journals across different subject disciplines.
Web of Science
Web of Science consists of citation databases in sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Multidisciplinary content covers scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, book series, and more.
Research Resources, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
The University is committed to encouraging faculty members and students to build research collaboration with a view to raising its international standing and advancing the frontiers of research and technology. This webpage serves as a one-stop shop to facilitate access to information on research funding opportunities, academic exchange schemes, research resources and services available, both within and beyond the University.