Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a guide to some of the most important electronic resources in the field of Economics. Email or phone the subject specialist for more information and assistance.
New Additions List : Economics / Business
Citing References - APA
APA (American Psychological Association) style is one of the common citation styles for referencing:
- APA Style Guide from Purdue Online Writing Lab
The resource provides the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. It contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.
- You may also read the Citation style recommendations / guidelines for other disciplines from the University.
Major Online Resources for Economics
ProQuest ABI/INFORM Collection
Coverage: 1971 - present
Provides nearly 3,000 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, and more.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Ultimate works for your students like a solid business plan – it offers an unprecedented wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world.
Coverage: 1969 - present
Developed by the American Economic Association, EconLit is the world’s foremost source of references to economic literature.
A business news information service provides access to nearly 6,500 newspapers, magazines, wire services, and academic and trade journals. It also includes profiles of public companies covering financial data.
Coverage: 1923 - present
Allows users access to nearly all the ProQuest periodical databases and provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of disciplines including business and economics, environmental studies, geography, public administration, social science, political sciences, and more.
Coverage: 1823 - present
Includes the abstracts and references of 15,000 peer-reviewed journals across different subject disciplines.
Social Sciences Citation Index at Web of Science
Coverage: 1956 - present
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Includes all cited references captured from indexed articles and supports cited reference search.
Balance of Payments Statistics
Coverage: 1948 - present
The IMF's BOP Statistics summarizes the economic transactions of an economy with the rest of the world.
Provides full-text access to reports published by the Economist Intelligence Unit, covering a wide range of business information. Titles include Country Forecast, China Premium Country, China hand, CountryData, Market Indicators and Forecasts, and Global Forecasting Service.
Global Development Finance
Coverage: 1970 - present
The World Bank's GDF Online offers external debt and financial flow data for the 135 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank Debtor Reporting System.
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online
Presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world.
Coverage: 1998 - present
Online access to OECD's publications, including books, journals, series, working papers, and statistical databases.
World Development Indicators
Coverage: 1960 - present
Statistics form the World Bank's WDI contains more than 800 development indicators.
Ulrichsweb is an authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types -- academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world.
Provides up-to-date bibliographic information and pricing structures for popular serials. It contains 212,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from 108,235 publishers worldwide.
Faculty Liaison Librarian (Faculty of Social Science)